Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.6 Bugs/Fixes
evaders99
Former Moderator in Good Standing

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:17 pm Reply with quote

Any software you use, you will have to deal with security issues. phpNuke is a bigger target than most, and granted the original creator FB has some of the responsibility as well for the bad code he writes. But trust me, no software is immune.

Gotta keep up-to-date, or sooner or later, you will have problems. Whether that be your operating system (Windows anyone?) or server scripts like phpNuke

Need help? Nuke Patched Core, Coding Services, Webmaster Services 
mrix
Client

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 3:13 am Reply with quote

I am not really a complete noob to this really I have had a phpnuke website for a few years and in that time I have udated my websites with patches and sentinal security many many times. I have some very popluar websites and when you become popluar and get many visitors its at that time you trouble begins really. As many rival sites dont want to see you near the top.
They basically will find anyway in they can and even if you do upload all the patches and latest securites they will still find a way in like they are doing now!
Cheers
mrix

montego
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 8:41 am Reply with quote

But, I think a key point has been lost. mrix, you keep saying that you keep up-to-date with phpBB and NukeSentinel and the PHP-Nuke patches, but the "hole" may have nothing to do with these. This is the point that Raven is getting across. You could very well have a add-on module/block that was poorly written, has not been patched in years, or even has known vulnerabilities.