Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Post Installation Help
starsky

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:04 am Reply with quote

hi
On a new install with a new host, I was having trouble installing rwsRavenNuke76_v2.02.02_FULL I tried evrything, but still no joy. I used the hosts support ticket system, and after a few lenghy notes backa nd forth i was told the htaccess was the wrong file format and he suggested removing it to install. Now at this point I will say I ama complete novice with all things web, but this my forth site that I have published using Nuke in verious versions. Well I removed as suggested and sure enough the site got up and under way. Here is the but, I am having terrible trouble getting some addons to work, example coppermine, cannot get the install to work, but i had uploaded it a few days earlier to another site with no hassle. now my questions. Is this correct about removing htaccess file? What effect will it have? And I have looked in the original zipped file of your nuke and that is showing as a Dreamweaver openned file. even though I have not even looked at it. so how do I convert it to the file format it needs to be?
Long one sorry!!

Tao_Man
Involved
Involved

PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:14 am Reply with quote

.htaccess should just be a flat text file, load and save with notepad, or better yet a good text editor then upload by FTP in ascii mode and you shuldn't have any problems with file format. If you have problems uploading it in ascii you can rename it htacccess.txt then remane it once it is uploaded. The thing to remember is you can not edit it in word or any word process program it needs to be just regular text.

I do not use copermine but for most programs/addons not having a .htaccess file should not be a problem. Nuke will work without it. It just adds another layer of security.

starsky