Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Security - PHP Nuke
ishadami

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:22 pm Reply with quote

hi i am new at nuke as can be understood from topic Smile
i am using 7,6 and 3,1 patch
sentinel 2,3,2
protector 1,5b2
floodgate 0,9 for security
and cnbya 4,4,2
coppermine 1,3,1a
i wonder whether there occurs any problem for security if i delete admin.php or redirect to mypage.php when i am not using
thanks

ladysilver
Hangin' Around

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 2:23 pm Reply with quote

You have some options, such as renaming "admin.php" something else. The problem with redirect is that "admin.php" can sometimes still be pulled up. For instances, typing [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] might redirect to index.php, but [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] or [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] may still reveal your admin file. I use 7.6 with added security and in the past have had no problem with just removing the admin file when I wasn't using it.

ishadami

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 2:35 pm Reply with quote

thanks
and what about deleting ? no problem seems i know but ;
will sentinel go on protecting ? its the real matter

ladysilver

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 2:41 pm Reply with quote

I've not run into any problem with Sentinel continuing to protect the site without admin.php. In fact, I use a dummy "admin.php" which redirects to a restricted page. I've had people try to run attacks on the restricted page without getting past Sentinel. Lol, of course, if they stayed on "admin.php" something would happen anyway... Smile

VinDSL
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles

Location: Arizona (USA) Admin: NukeCops.com Admin: Disipal Designs Admin: Lenon.com

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:36 pm Reply with quote