Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Other - Discussion
Poll
What is your current main OS
Windows 2000
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Windows XP
42%
 42%  [ 3 ]
Windows Vista
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
GNU/Linux (in any form)
28%
 28%  [ 2 ]
OS X
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
BSD (in any form)
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Other...
14%
 14%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 7

djmaze
Subject Matter Expert

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:42 pm Reply with quote

As a developer i switched to GNU/Linux mainly because it is IMHO best to use the same architecture as most servers do so that you understand the ins and outs of the system itself and to know that your code actually works.

In my C++ programming age i used Windows 2000 and XP since i was writing applications for these OS's.

Don't start bashing here that one OS supersedes the other because that is not possible. Each OS is designed for its own purposes.
Nor does OS X has less security holes then Windows as was proven at the PWN to OWN contest at the CanSecWest security conference [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]

I do still have a Windows 2k boot for using MS Office 2000, some other stuff and to test webapps using Apache in a NTFS environment.

It took me a while for figuring out the possibilities of GNU/Linux before it was actually a full blown development environment.

Some additional reasons why i switched:

• Our governments have an agreement to, as of April, only use the ISO certified ODF (Open Document Format) so that information can be easily shared between any OS and each department (which is not possible with MS Word)
  • Windows Vista IMHO is not a successor and XP is not my cup of coffee
  • GNU/Linux takes full advantages of my 64bit architecture (had issues with 32bit Flash and others to get running though)
  • IE6 and IE7 also work using Wine
  • KHTML (used as base for Safari) to test websites