Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Nuke Evolution
snype
Regular
Regular

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 8:00 am Reply with quote

hey all! got a question that some one may be able to help me with (not you eldo lol) Laughing well currently i am running an evo-xtreme site and i now want to run RN and add the mods i want instead of having endless mods that i wont use and just sit there collecting dust, so my question is what steps can i take to install it and keep my forums and users? SQL i am not too good with but i know the tables are so different and i can only edit so much befor it starts getting to complicated.

But i was wondering if anyone knows of an easy way or if there is an Rolling Eyes upgrade script Rolling Eyes then that would be amazing

Regards
snype

kguske
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 6:10 pm Reply with quote

I'm not aware of any pre-made scripts to convert between Evo and RN. However, there are several utilities (the one I've used was created by Guardian at [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] that can identify the differences between 2 databases - and generate the SQL to, for example, change your Evo (preferably, a backup) to RN. That isn't a complete solution, since you'd probably need to add / update records, too.

You might consider an approach of installing RN in 2 databases. Then drop the tables from one of the RN databases that exist in your EVO database. Then backup the EVO tables and restore to the modified RN database. Then compare that to the unchanged RN database and modify the Evo tables, setting default data for any new fields, and updating data as appropriate.

If you're not good with SQL, you might wish to hire someone to assist. But without doing the comparison of the differences, it would be difficult to determine how complex the change would be.

Guardian2003