Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.6
montego
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:00 pm Reply with quote

I have been mulling over the Chatserv 2.8 patches for 7.6 to keep from the admin files getting accessed directly and the new 7.6 admin_file structure. My original thought was panic that I am hearing many people say to not bother with renaming the admin file because I was thinking that with register globals on, couldn't someone simply provide ADMIN_FILE=true and admin_file=admin within the URL variable list and access case.php, index.php, and links.php?

I am still learning PHP, so please bear with this possibly very basic question, but how is the following code working to guarantee no direct access of scripts like these under the modules/xxxxxxx/admin/ directory?

Code:

if ( !defined('ADMIN_FILE') )
{
   die("Illegal File Access");
}

global $admin_file;
if (!stristr($_SERVER['SCRIPT_NAME'], "".$admin_file.".php")) { die ("Access Denied"); }

Now for my second question setup. If the above is truelly keeping the "kiddies" out, then could not the following code be used to be able to apply the same code to both 7.5 and 7.6 modules so that one does not have to maintain two separate downloads?

Code:

if ( !defined('ADMIN_FILE') )
{
   die("Illegal File Access");
}

global $admin_file;
if (!isset($admin_file)) {
   $admin_file = "admin";
}
if (!stristr($_SERVER['SCRIPT_NAME'], "".$admin_file.".php")) { die ("Access Denied"); }

Could come knowledgeable person please help me understand if this would be appropriate and if not, how it can be exploited?

I really don't want to have to maintain two separate distributions for 7.5 and 7.6 new modules if I don't have to.

Thanks!
montego

sixonetonoffun
Spouse Contemplates Divorce