Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> NukeSentinel(tm)
TheosEleos
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:23 pm Reply with quote

Are they different?

What are the differences if any?

Why should I change?

Client

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:58 pm Reply with quote

I tried Protector and it trashed my site, but then I'm new to php and security programs so it may have been an error on my part.

So I tried Sentinel when it first came out and it was so easy to install and configure I've stuck with it.

I'm running phpnuk v7.0 with the latest patches.

sixonetonoffun
Spouse Contemplates Divorce

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:17 pm Reply with quote

Sentinel is being built with moderate to large sites in mind keeping code and database queries to a minimum. Protector has been built on more of a feature first, performance second model.

CodyG
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:48 pm Reply with quote

I use Protector on my 6.9 productions site in two ways. I check for which users are using the same IP, (sometimes cookie issues with more than one user in the same household). Also, I only add users to the system by hand via Edit Users so I check IPs against those already registered, to prevent multiple accounts for one user.

I can only imagine the worst case chaos if I attempted to remove Protector and install Sentinel.

If I install Sentinel (on fresh install) can I check IPs the same as I could with Protector?

And question, hopefully not OT, about banning ... is one way better than another to ban an IP? I could use CPanel, which I assume writes an htaccess file, or features in Protector or Forums, and I'm sure other apps have ban functions too. What is the best way to ban an IP from a domain how come there are so many different options?

Site Admin/Owner