Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> JavaScript
devilchi

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:33 pm Reply with quote

I am working on a theme for my ravennuke site and have come across something I have never had to play with before. I have a lot of customized blocks that show/hide and also divs that can be positioned around the screen. Now I need to find away to make them persistent for the user as they go thru my site. I know this would probably be done with cookies but my question is if i have 20 items that need to be set would that mean 20 different cookies? Thats what Im getting from the tutorials I been reading. Maybe Im just misunderstanding them. I have limited coding experience. If there is a better way or a best way to handle this could some one please point me in the right direction. The functions are in javascript so thats why this post is in the javascript forum.

Thank you for your time.
Devilchi

evaders99
Former Moderator in Good Standing

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:42 am Reply with quote

Nah, you can put as much data as you want in a cookie. Mostly it just stores strings.
You could concatenate all your block states as a set of block switches, 1s and 0s. Or do something more complicated if you have a dynamic number of blocks
"block1"=>1,"block2"=>0, etc

Need help? Nuke Patched Core, Coding Services, Webmaster Services 
montego
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:30 am Reply with quote

evaders99, I thought that there was a limit imposed based upon the request headers, which is where I believe the cookie data is passed back-and-forth in??? I just can't remember what that size limit is.

fkelly
Former Moderator in Good Standing

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:33 am Reply with quote