Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Blocks
wiz
Involved
Involved

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 4:33 pm Reply with quote

Ok in this area i am a complete novice, and for those that have set up gaming sites, i would appreciate some intel..

I have game server query blocks lined up for a site, and a Teamspeak block.

Ok, my question is (not specific numbers) but what do i need to ask my host ( Rolling Eyes ) to open for me?
For those that cry "PORTS", give yourselves a gold star Wink
The question is... There is the port you have to join the actual server. You have the Query port, you have the listen port, you have TCP, UDP,TCP/UDP...and to perfect the issue In and Out on every single one.

So what do i need to actually request from Rav...ermmm my host?
Laughing

Cheers
WIZ

Gremmie
Former Moderator in Good Standing

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 5:07 pm Reply with quote

Well....it depends on the block and the specific service it is trying to get to. Try the blocks and maybe it will work right away. If not you need to talk to your host about it. In many cases the block will try to open a socket to the remote host. And that can be disabled by hosts.

E.g. in the case of TeamSpeak, a lot of blocks use fsockopen() to get to the server's query port (default 51234).

wiz

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:25 pm Reply with quote

Yeh, i know i got to get the ports opened.

But there are sooo many permuatations of what needs to be opened, i dont want to throw a pile of numbers at Raven and say "open all of these options" Because he WILL laugh at me.

I do have a list of numbers from all of my servers: Listen ports, query ports, join ports etc.
Just havent a clue where to start with it all, and i would rather just say to Raven "i need this, this and this".

Gremmie

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:31 pm Reply with quote