Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.6 Bugs/Fixes
Author Message
djmaze
Subject Matter Expert



Joined: May 15, 2004
Posts: 727
Location: http://tinyurl.com/5z8dmv

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 12:52 am Reply with quote

Someone fixes a security bug and what does FB do ?
Create a bigger hole in the system Laughing

You wanna have an example ?

k here goes:
admin/modules/authors.php
Code:
global $prefix, $db, $admin_file;

if (!eregi("".$admin_file.".php", $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])) { die ("Access Denied"); }


Now call that file thru sometihng like:

mydomain.com/admin/modules/authors.php?admin_file=authors

GOOD LUCK !!!!
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djmaze







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 12:57 am Reply with quote

Oh another example:

admin.php

normaly it loads mainfile.php first, but now it does some variable checks first.

Now my server php.ini is setup without "register_globals" so they don't exist (yet)
And it bypasses all useless security measurements.

Then mainfile.php "fakes" register_globals by defining everything (also my url constructed variables)
Then i have a lot of luck hacking around.
 
Raven
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:06 am Reply with quote

In addition, the code at the beginning of mainfile.php appears to let you include a mainfile.php file of your choosing. That's not the case. You can only include code that does not already exist in mainfile.php. PHP does not allow 'overloading' of functions. And what good does it do to have that code at the top? Anything you add can only be code that mainfile would use to start with.
 
View user's profile Send private message
BobMarion
Former Admin in Good Standing



Joined: Oct 30, 2002
Posts: 1037
Location: RedNeck Land (known as Kentucky)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:29 am Reply with quote

FB did that little thing to a couple of other files as well because of the edits that NukeSentinel(tm), NSN, and other script devs use. He wants us to conform to his way of thinking again Sad

_________________
Bob Marion
Codito Ergo Sum
http://www.nukescripts.net 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BobMarion







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:30 am Reply with quote

Oh, and I've done file compares and he did not use any of CS's Patched files at all Sad

I also remember this patch being released by NSN after that long night talking with DJ:
Code:
if ($aid AND (!isset($admin) OR empty($admin)) AND $op != 'login') { 

    unset($aid);
    unset($admin);
    echo "Access denied";
    die();
}

But I don't see any credits to him or me Sad
 
TheosEleos
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles



Joined: Sep 18, 2003
Posts: 960
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:36 am Reply with quote

DJMaze wrote:
Someone fixes a security bug and what does FB do ?
Create a bigger hole in the system Laughing

You wanna have an example ?

k here goes:
admin/modules/authors.php
Code:
global $prefix, $db, $admin_file;

if (!eregi("".$admin_file.".php", $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])) { die ("Access Denied"); }


Now call that file thru sometihng like:

mydomain.com/admin/modules/authors.php?admin_file=authors

GOOD LUCK !!!!


I must be a horrible hacker cuz I tried this trick on my test 7.6 site and got a 404 error.

_________________
http://jamesdibben.com 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address ICQ Number
MrFluffy
Hangin' Around



Joined: Jun 24, 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:55 am Reply with quote

TheosEleos wrote:
DJMaze wrote:
Someone fixes a security bug and what does FB do ?
Create a bigger hole in the system Laughing

You wanna have an example ?

k here goes:
admin/modules/authors.php
Code:
global $prefix, $db, $admin_file;

if (!eregi("".$admin_file.".php", $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])) { die ("Access Denied"); }


Now call that file thru sometihng like:

mydomain.com/admin/modules/authors.php?admin_file=authors

GOOD LUCK !!!!


I must be a horrible hacker cuz I tried this trick on my test 7.6 site and got a 404 error.


No 'luck' either, direct access to those files isn't possible on my testsystems.

Wouldn't it be an option to define the admin file as a constant instead of using a variable? I'm not sure if that would make sense though... can you manually put a constant in a url string? I just think a constant can't be manipulated (think I've read that somewhere).

_________________
cu,
MrFluffy

Image 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
djmaze







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 9:59 am Reply with quote

I didn't say how and when the vulnerabilities work to prevent scriptkiddies playing with it.
A real developer knows when and how they work.
 
MrFluffy







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:12 am Reply with quote

Oh sorry, didn't want to disturb the 'real' developers with my childish comments Wink
 
djmaze







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:30 am Reply with quote

MrFluffy wrote:
Oh sorry, didn't want to disturb the 'real' developers with my childish comments Wink
You did mention something good about defines.

Yes defines are the only good option if it's used wisely like:

Code:
if (!defined('CPG_NUKE')) { exit; }
 
irandoct
Hangin' Around



Joined: Dec 01, 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:07 am Reply with quote

Hi all,
I'm applying a patch like Chatserv 2.6 to 7.6 version. It will be done in a day!
Any suggesstions please let me know !
Regards
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
irandoct







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:24 am Reply with quote

Hello BobMarion,
Can i use sentinel 2.1.1 on phpnuke 7.6 ? Does any changes need ?
Please advise
Regards
 
Raven







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:37 am Reply with quote

NukeSentinel will work just fine Wink
 
oprime2001
Worker
Worker



Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 119
Location: Chicago IL USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:40 am Reply with quote

Besides the arguments raised against 7.6 on this topic, others have raised concerns, too.
 
View user's profile Send private message
chatserv
Member Emeritus



Joined: May 02, 2003
Posts: 1389
Location: Puerto Rico

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 1:34 pm Reply with quote

Can you post what those are oprime?
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
oprime2001







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 1:40 pm Reply with quote

Sorry. I should have been more explicit. The other concerns are NOT necessarily security-specific. The concerns are more related to nukelite/FB's perceived attitude.

More details in this post: [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]
 
Peejay
New Member
New Member



Joined: Mar 17, 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:54 pm Reply with quote

Chatserv: Is there going to be a patched version of 7.6? It would appear that your builds are the only ones we can trust to be secure anymore.
 
View user's profile Send private message
64bitguy
The Mouse Is Extension Of Arm



Joined: Mar 06, 2004
Posts: 1164

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:12 pm Reply with quote

What a mess. What is this junk solution doing in a nice place like this?

Can we send this one back to "the Club" until it's ready for Beta?

Watch out for your blocks in 7.6 folks!

Some have:
Code:
if (eregi("block-Big_Story_of_Today.php", $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])) {

    Header("Location: index.php");
    die();


While others have:
Code:
if (eregi("block-Advertising.php",$_SERVER[PHP_SELF])) {

    Header("Location: ../index.php");
    die();

Where is that pesky index.php file anyway?

This one is named wrong:
Code:
if (eregi("block-Last_10_Articles.php", $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])) {

    Header("Location: index.php");
    die();
}


Space or no space after that comma?.. Hmmm.. I guess it doesn't matter since there a bunch of these both ways. Way to keep a standard!
Code:
if (eregi("block-Last_Referers.php",$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'])) {

    Header("Location: index.php");
    die();
}

_________________
Steph Benoit
100% Section 508 and W3C HTML5 and CSS Compliant (Truly) Code, because I love compliance.

Last edited by 64bitguy on Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:36 pm; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message
Raven







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:35 pm Reply with quote

It's the lemmings that amaze me. If he would just come down from his ego and open this up, the community could beta test it for him before he releases it! But it still doesn't explain why he, as the developer (and I use the term very loosely), doesn't test his stuff with all known exploits BEFORE he releases it!
 
Peejay







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:43 pm Reply with quote

I agree. I tried to defend him for a long time but its just impossible now. I work at an ISP and there is talk about banning use of all Nuke related software because of the highly insecure nature of it. I use it on my system at home and have never had a problem but I keep a close eye on all patches, etc, etc.
 
Raven







PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:48 pm Reply with quote

There are many ISP's/Hosts that are doing that. I am constantly debating the issue with my data center. I still contend that he should stop all other development and fix all known exploits. Then, he should hire waraxe to break it and then he fixes it etc...
 
64bitguy







PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 12:03 am Reply with quote

Users with 7.6 need to also secure the weblinks module... It's open again...

I've had this less than 20 minutes and I've found all of these? sheesh.... This is just sloppy.
 
chatserv







PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 1:16 am Reply with quote

A patch for it is already done but i'm sending it over to Telli and any other that wants to check it out before releasing it, there was simply way too much on my plate today with the release of phpBB 2.0.11 at the same time.
 
irandoct







PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 1:56 am Reply with quote

Hi all,
I have checked some parts of this version . The only thing that I can say is :
It's very buggy ! Strongly very buggy !
As a sample there is two missed form action in content / download modules.
see this :
modules/content/admin/index.php line : 186
modules/downloads/admin/index.php line : 100
Please don't install this version until a patch for it.
I'm trying do this based on Chatserv patch 2.6 .
can anyone help me in this issue and testing it ? let me know!
Have a nice Nuke Day Smile
 
Andrzej
Hangin' Around



Joined: Jan 22, 2004
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 9:29 am Reply with quote

I think that your support patching the versions - should stop with 7.6. It's getting crazy.

Andrzej
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.6 Bugs/Fixes

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©