Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.0
Author Message
bugsy
Worker
Worker



Joined: May 08, 2007
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:02 am Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a funny problem..the site is running fine but when i try to load Print Article page the whole site loads below the article-print Page with this message " Access Denied; You are trying to access a restricted area. We are Sorry but this section of our site is for Subscribed Users Only. Go Back".

Same problem is happening in Avant Go Page and in fact is happening with google xml sitemap whose xml is getting corrupted due to the same issue.

You can check the article print page here
http://press.xtvworld.com/article-print-20318.html
or Google Sitemap here
http://press.xtvworld.com/modules.php?name=Sitemap&op=Google
or Avant Go here
http://press.xtvworld.com/modules.php?name=AvantGo

Any suggestion will be appreciated..

Thanks in advance.. Shocked
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
montego
Site Admin



Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:32 am Reply with quote

Sounds like an issue with that version. Check your modules/AvantGo/index.php script towards the bottom, maybe see if it looks like this:

Code:


include_once('includes/counter.php');
die();


I don't have the 7.0 source to check, but if you don't have that die() statement in there, you could try that and see if it helps.

My "gut" is telling me that you might have something in your .htaccess which could be redirecting incorrectly, but not sure.

_________________
Where Do YOU Stand?
HTML Newsletter::ShortLinks::Mailer::Downloads and more... 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bugsy







PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:53 am Reply with quote

Hi thanks for your suggestion.... I checked the avantgo file the code
Code:
include_once('includes/counter.php');

die();
is there..and here is clips from the htaccess file...I am using GoogleTapNextGen
Code:
#AvantGo

RewriteRule ^avantgo-print-([0-9]*).html modules.php?name=AvantGo&file=print&sid=$1
RewriteRule ^avantgo.html avantgo.html
...but it is not an AvantGo specific problem as its happening in print article and xml sitemap too.. Exclamation Here is code for article print
Code:
RewriteRule ^article-print-([0-9]*).html modules.php?name=News&file=print&sid=$1

RewriteRule ^article-friend-([0-9]*).html
..and there is no code in htaccess for the xml sitemap..there also after the whole xml file..normal html coding is getting displayed and xml format is automatically getting corrupted due to that reason..
 
evaders99
Former Moderator in Good Standing



Joined: Apr 30, 2004
Posts: 3221

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:31 pm Reply with quote

Did you actually check the permissions on that module through Modules in your admin panel?

_________________
- Star Wars Rebellion Network -

Need help? Nuke Patched Core, Coding Services, Webmaster Services 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bugsy







PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:56 pm Reply with quote

I checked the permissions..in AvantGo its All Visitors. NukeSEO comes under Admin Module and it does not have a permission switch and article print i believe is not a module.

What i assume is happening is whenever there is a case for loading specific pages without the whole surrounding site the problem is occurring...I mean everything else is running fine but only when it is supposed to drop the surrounding elements and show only the content its supposed to show it is happening.

I mean in all the cases Avant Go Article Print and XML sitemap rest of the site is not supposed to load but it is loading in all cases that too just below the content in each and every case.
 
montego







PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:00 am Reply with quote

I have never seen this (I don't think anyways), so kind of stumped. Only other thing I could think of is did you by chance turn on "Force Nuke URL" within NukeSentinel. If you did, turn that OFF and leave it off. Wink
 
bugsy







PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:47 am Reply with quote

I turned it off just now but the problem persists Bang Head Turning off will it not affect the search engine indexing? I mean having both [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] and [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] is it good or bad for SERPs?

This page loading problem can it be due to main file or some thing similar? The main file was patched time to time with various installs...when they were required.

I notice one more thing in Sentinel Panel the .htaccess path is not given...is it helpful?
 
bugsy







PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:54 am Reply with quote

Hi guys any suggestion on these two..
Quote:
Turning off will it not affect the search engine indexing? I mean having both [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] and [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] is it good or bad for SERPs?
and
Quote:
I notice one more thing in Sentinel Panel the .htaccess path is not given...is it helpful?
 
montego







PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:36 am Reply with quote

Regarding Force Nuke URL - This is more trouble than it is worth. It, as you have seen, can cause other issues. I have never used it if that helps to answer your question. Wink

There are other ways to deal with this BTW. Within your Google web master account, change the setting to pick which URL you want them to cache. In addition, within .htaccess, you can use a rewrite rule. For example, if you prefer to use "www.", do this:

Code:


RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^example\.com
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.example.com/$1 [R=301]


I have NOT tested the above rewrite rule. I do not even use this myself and I don't think I am getting penalized for it. I think search engines these days are smart enough to deal with the www vs. not especially since most browsers allow you to use either at will.

Whatever you do, make sure your Preferences AND Forums config have the desired URL as well (keeping in mind that in Preferences you provide the "http://" prefix and in Forums config you do not).

Regarding Sentinel - Yes, that is important IF you want to protect access to your admin.php script AND if you want to ban people from accessing your site with .htaccess (i.e., BEFORE they even get into nuke).

There are many threads here which discuss solutions to common set up problems in case you run into trouble.
 
bugsy







PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:48 am Reply with quote

Hey thats great info..will try them out...and that print article problem is continuing though

Thanks Very Happy
 
montego







PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 6:53 am Reply with quote

You may want to consider upgrading to RavenNuke(tm) latest. I have never seen these issues before and am struggling to figure out what could be causing it. I started my "nuke career" on 7.4, moved quickly to 7.5 and then switched to RavenNuke when it was at v2.0.x
 
bugsy







PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:42 am Reply with quote

Ya thats a good suggestion...in fact i ran a offiline migration to RavenNuke(tm) test few months back and it didn't work out properly as i have to upgrade and migrate with all my users and their postings...i mean that is a must...so now panning for upgrading to 7.6 stable one in near future. So hoping this issue will be solved in 7.6! Smile
 
montego







PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 5:58 am Reply with quote

Actually, upgrading to RavenNuke requires only one additional step from 7.6... so, you would be almost there. The key is you have to run both the PHP-Nuke upgrade scripts and nuke patch scripts one-by-one to go from 7.0 to 7.1, from 7.1 to 7.2, etc. on up to 7.6. Then, you apply each of the BBtoNuke upgrade scripts to get all the way to 2.0.22 (if you are not already there).

Those steps are just to get you to standard PHP-Nuke 7.6.

Then, it is simply running a few steps from the RavenNuke installSQL.php script (all documented in the HowToInstall manual which comes with the distro). And, of course, replace and/or merge all your files.

I done this process several times and it works great unless you have tons of mods. But, upgrading is ALWAYS trickier when you have made mods.
 
bugsy







PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:52 am Reply with quote

I don't have too many mods - what i did was

a) Ran all the PHP-Nuke upgrade scripts 7-7.6
b) Ran phpbb present to 2.0.22
c) Replaced all old files with RavenNuke
d) Steps from installSQL.php

Result i got was a running site but without any of my members or their posts..i tried it few time with same results.

I also lost admin privilege on phpbb in the process

Then I decided on going upto 7.6 and install all the good mods coming with RN to 7.6 - effectively the job has become very tidious due to that - RN is carrying lots of features pre-installed!

But i did not run any nuke patch scripts (Files will get deleted anyway) - or i believe you are talking about C patched nuke like 2.9 and 3.3?

And i was trying to execute the whole op in XAMPP ...but i belive that was not the cause of the problem..
 
bugsy







PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:21 am Reply with quote

Hi,

I have turned off the Force Nuke URL and doing a 301 redirect and have come across some indexing problem in Google search..where probably sentinel has blocked the Google bot so i have opened a new topic on it under an appropriate category. You can find it here .. http://www.ravenphpscripts.com/postt14130.html
 
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> phpnuke 7.0

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©