| Author |
Message |
nooblet Regular


Joined: Sep 09, 2005 Posts: 88
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 24, 2006 12:44 am |
|
Raven, i have noticed that the ip of whois.sc (64.246.160.0 - 64.246.191.255) always got banned (Reason: Abuse-Referer) on my sites that use your distro. So that when i looked at my Website Title: "www.MyDomain.com: You have been blocked " bcoz of that i have added there ip to the NukeSentinel Protected Range.. I hope you will add them also on the protected range in your next release  |
|
|
|
 |
Raven Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002 Posts: 16987 Location: Kansas
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:59 am |
|
Or, just remove them from the referer list? |
|
|
|
 |
nooblet Regular


Joined: Sep 09, 2005 Posts: 88
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 24, 2006 7:20 am |
|
sorry i didnt notice that it is on the the blocked referer list.. lol
anyway why is it on the blocked referer list?  |
|
|
|
 |
organizedhome New Member


Joined: Nov 16, 2005 Posts: 4
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 24, 2006 7:27 am |
|
I was just going to ask the same thing .... is there a reason that they should be blocked? |
|
|
|
 |
Raven Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002 Posts: 16987 Location: Kansas
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:50 am |
|
The main reason is that they basically dig up evey piece of information about your site and domain registrations and make it available to the public and other harvesters. Not that the information can't be gotten other ways, but they make it too convenient and so they are on the bad bot lists. |
|
|
|
 |
organizedhome New Member


Joined: Nov 16, 2005 Posts: 4
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:30 am |
|
Thanks, Raven--I believe I'll leave that listing blocked. That was what I wanted to know. |
|
|
|
 |
nooblet Regular


Joined: Sep 09, 2005 Posts: 88
|
Posted:
Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:06 pm |
|
thanks for that great info raven.. ill leave them to the blocked referer list also..  |
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|