PHP Web Host - Quality Web Hosting For All PHP Applications Just Great Software
  Login or Register
 • Home • Downloads • Your Account • Forums • 

View next topic
View previous topic


Google
 
Web RavenPHPScripts (This Site)
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:09 am Reply with quote Back to top

Code:
www.xxx.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=getit&lid=578


I thought getit was a valid command in the downloads fetch? It is being blocked as a abuse by Agent GetRight/5.1

Thanks...


Last edited by blith on Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:56 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 16987
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:20 am Reply with quote Back to top

Are you sure that the Agent for that block wasn't GetRight?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:32 am Reply with quote Back to top

Yes "blocked as a abuse by Agent GetRight/5.1 " I just thought the getit might have caused some confusion... so it is a valid block?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 16987
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:34 am Reply with quote Back to top

That Agent is a Harvester in your Harvester block. It is valid.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am Reply with quote Back to top

Why would it have a username on my site then instead of anonymous? How would a user have a harvester? I am not doubting you by the way I just don't know how it works... Smile
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 16987
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:41 am Reply with quote Back to top

I can't answer that off the top of my head. Is the user a valid user? If so, contact him and ask if he uses a proxy? Maybe GetRight offere a proxy service? Please post the top area of the email, masking your domain if desired. Be sure to include the Query String.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:53 am Reply with quote Back to top

Raven wrote:
I can't answer that off the top of my head. Is the user a valid user? If so, contact him and ask if he uses a proxy? Maybe GetRight offere a proxy service? Please post the top area of the email, masking your domain if desired. Be sure to include the Query String.

I have emailed him and I am awaiting the answer. He is a valid user that is why I thought the getit part of the query string
Code:
www.xxx.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=getit&lid=578
might have caused this. I unforunately cannot find the email... I will post it if I can locate it...


Last edited by blith on Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:56 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:55 am Reply with quote Back to top

Here is the body of the email...
User ID: AshlanderRand (20173)
Reason: Abuse - AGENT
--------------------
User Agent: GetRight/5.1
Query String:
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!

Forwarded For: 203.134.47.160
Client IP: none
Remote Address: 210.50.30.20
Remote Port: 1471
Request Method: GET
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 16987
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:07 am Reply with quote Back to top

Using that query string, try it in your browser. If you get banned then you'll have to use phpMyAdmin to remove your IP from the banned table. If not, then contact that user and ask them what browser thay are using. Either the browser or the proxy (if that was used) had to have sent that Agent String. If you want that Agent accepted, just remove it from the Sentinel(tm) harvester block.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:17 am Reply with quote Back to top

Okay I tried the string and did not get banned... now for the rest of your post I am confused. I do not want to allow GetRight as it is a harvester but I was wondering if there might be a false positive in there somewhere... are we sure that it did not have anything to do with the words getit in the string? Once again I know nothing of the inner workings of Sentinel Smile I am happy to have it, I am one of those users of a product that have no idea how it works we just know it does!

I have another one from a valid user also

172.201.7.52
User: Getharitan
Agent: GetRight/5.0
Abuse Blocked on: 2004-06-07 11:45:37
Notes: Added by Sentinel(tm)
Reason: Abuse - AGENT

Query String:
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!

Forwarded For: none
Client IP: none
Remote Address: 172.201.7.52
Remote Port: 1979
Request Method: GET


It seems the common factor in both these bans is that the word "get" appears in them somewhere... one in the string and one in the uname... interesting
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 16987
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:24 am Reply with quote Back to top

No, there is no false positive. The Agent signifies the reason it got banned. Otherwise, if it were the word "get", you and everyone else would be getting banned. Now, if GetRight is both a valid Agent and a Harvester, then you will have to make a choice Smile - Web Master control Twisted Evil
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 9:29 am Reply with quote Back to top

Oka, thanks Raven! As always you are extremely helpful and patient with the lesser experienced...
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:29 am Reply with quote Back to top

On the topic of GetRight... I have users that use it because it is a good download manager. Now for the question... I have the fetch it mod like here on this site and I am wondering if I could safely remove GetRight from the harvester list if I have the fetch it module that prevents automagically downloading all my files?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 16987
Location: Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:52 am Reply with quote Back to top

Possibly? Probably? I think so? Laughing I guess you will just have to try it and see.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Forums ©
 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2011 by Raven

You can syndicate our news using the file xml

CSE HTML Validator Helped Clean up This Page! [Valid RSS] valid RSS 2.0 Valid robots.txt Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot

Website engines core code is © copyright by PHP-Nuke but has been heavily patched and modified by myself and others.
PHP-Nuke is a free software released under the GNU/GPL.


:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Modified by the RavenNuke™ Team ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation ::

zerosum