PHP Web Host - Quality Web Hosting For All PHP Applications Free RavenNuke(tm) Add Ons
  Login or Register
 • Home • Downloads • Your Account • Forums • 

View next topic
View previous topic


Google
 
Web RavenPHPScripts (This Site)
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
paradice
New Member
New Member


Joined: Aug 06, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 11:22 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Sentinel is banning the following user-agent string:

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; Media Center PC 4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)

as a Microsoft URL Control bot but I don't see any sign of it.

Any suggestions?
View user's profile Send private message
montego
Site Admin


Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9136
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:52 am Reply with quote Back to top

You might want to see this:
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!


And this (useful site):
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!


Somewhere in the User Agent field is the string "microsoft.url" so I am wondering if we're not getting the full User Agent shown?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Doulos
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles


Joined: Jun 06, 2005
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 8:37 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I don't really know what I am looking at on those two websites. I have recently begun getting similar messages about (40 all from one user):
Quote:
Reason: Abuse-Harvest
String Match: microsoft url control
--------------------
User Agent: Microsoft URL Control - 6.00.8862
Query String: mysite.com/index.php
Get String: mysite.com/index.php
Post String: mysite.com/index.php
Forwarded For: none
Client IP: none
Remote Address: 6x.1xx.2xx.1xx
Remote Port: 60086
Request Method: GET
Also this one:
Quote:
User ID: Anonymous (1)
Reason: Abuse-Harvest
String Match: webster
--------------------
User Agent: Mozilla/4.7 (compatible; OffByOne; Windows 2000) Webster Pro V3.4
Query String:
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!

Get String:
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!

Post String:
Only registered users can see links on this board!
Get registered or login to the forums!

Forwarded For: none
Client IP: none
Remote Address: 2xx.1xx.6x.8x
Remote Port: 4821
Request Method: GET


Questions:
1. Are these dangerous and should I be permanently blocking them.
2. Any idea what they are trying to do? Can you tell from this? I tried looking at the log but my log for the past 30 days is 120 Mb. I gave up after 10 minutes of crimson editor trying to load it.
View user's profile Send private message
Guardian2003
Site Admin


Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 6373
Location: Vsetin, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:56 am Reply with quote Back to top

Have you done a lookup for the IP?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Doulos
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles


Joined: Jun 06, 2005
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:29 pm Reply with quote Back to top

The first case is a legitimate registered user who claims he is just clicking our link in his shortcuts (IE). Clearing cookies, temporary internet files, and typing the url in manually allowed him to access our site normally. Now he is getting blocked again. I told him to try using Firefox, not to import IE favorites and place our site as his homepage and see it that works.

In the second case, Korea. Hmm, thought I had them blocked.
View user's profile Send private message
Guardian2003
Site Admin


Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 6373
Location: Vsetin, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:53 pm Reply with quote Back to top

For your first case, he is the only one getting blocked by clicking on his bookmarks which leads me to think there MAY more to this than meets the eye. Is he a regular contributor to the site?
In the case of Korea, if you use Sentinel to look up the IP is it listed? It might be one of those oddballs that isnt in the latest IP2Country list.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Doulos
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles


Joined: Jun 06, 2005
Posts: 545

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:57 pm Reply with quote Back to top

1. He is a long time member, but hasn't contributed in the past few months. He began getting blocked as soon as he came back. I myself am wondering if he is trying to use a script to copy the website, or some such activity.

2. I used dnsstuff.com, didn't think to check NS. I will.
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Forums ©
 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2011 by Raven

You can syndicate our news using the file xml

CSE HTML Validator Helped Clean up This Page! [Valid RSS] valid RSS 2.0 Valid robots.txt Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot

Website engines core code is © copyright by PHP-Nuke but has been heavily patched and modified by myself and others.
PHP-Nuke is a free software released under the GNU/GPL.


:: fisubice phpbb2 style by Daz :: PHP-Nuke theme by www.nukemods.com ::
:: fisubice Theme Modified by the RavenNuke™ Team ::

:: W3C CSS Compliance Validation :: W3C HTML 4.01 Transitional Compliance Validation ::

zerosum