Joined: Jun 04, 2004 Posts: 119 Location: Chicago IL USA
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:00 pm
I had a random user JackFromWales4u2 register on one of my phpnuke sites. At first I was annoyed at the random registration, but then paranoia took hold. I checked the logs for any obvious or glaring exploits, but I did not see anything.
I then checked the various phpnuke security sites. I was surprised to see that JackFromWales4u2 was also the latest signup at a forum moderator's site.
I then ran a
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login to the forums!
, and google returned 18600 hits!
From a random check of the various google hits, it seems that JackFromWales4u2 has been very busy with a great number of registrations at these various phpnuke and phpbb sites within a span of a couple of days -- September 1-2, 2004.
Now this screams of an exploit/vulnerability! Is there a script or exploit/vulnerability that is out in the wild that is yet unpatched?
Or am I just being paranoid here?
p.s. you might want to check your own sites to see if you've had a visit from JackFromWales4u2, too.
Joined: Jun 04, 2004 Posts: 119 Location: Chicago IL USA
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:52 pm
That could be a possible purpose for the mass registrations. My concern is HOW did they register and activate all these phpnuke/phpbb accounts in a seemingly short period of time.
Joined: Jun 03, 2004 Posts: 302 Location: Huber Heights Ohio
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:23 pm
Interesting, that IP comes back as:
OrgName: Advanced Internet Technologies, Inc.
OrgID: ADIT
Address: 421 Maiden Lane
City: Fayetteville
StateProv: NC
PostalCode: 28301
Country: US
Joined: Mar 06, 2004 Posts: 1156 Location: Sanbornton, NH USA
Posted:
Sun Sep 05, 2004 12:14 pm
Registered on my site on September 1, 2004 using a mail.ru email address which is on my restricted list. You should NOT be able to register on my site using this email address so something is awry!
Can we check all registered members IP's on our site quickly? I mean I have over 500 so far, and most of those dont post on the forum, so I don't get an IP.
Shame if it doesnt register an IP when registering (something I liked about Invision Board the IP on registration was logged) because you can get rid of anyone you dont want if you know their IP.
Not your average copy paste script kiddie for sure. I'd guess this is a very high tech entity or individual. But collecting the urls from the emails wouldn't be the hardest thing to do.
# Depending on your PHP use one of imageellipse or imagearc
#ImageEllipse($image,($cnt*8),10,intval(rand(15,30)),intval(rand(15,30)), $text_color);
ImageArc($image,($cnt*8),10,intval(rand(15,30)),intval(rand(15,30)),0,360, $text_color);
}
Does anyone think we need a 3 strikes function with this?
The longer the code is the more likely an error. After changing to 9 chars about 1 in 3 trys I get it wrong and I'm more familar with the login process then the average surfer.
It has some merit in the case of brute force attacks I spose.
Joined: Jun 04, 2004 Posts: 119 Location: Chicago IL USA
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 7:28 am
I posted the original post in the
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login to the forums!
. A couple of users there are now reporting that the JackFromWales4u2 account is being used to spam news articles on phpnuke websites with comments with a link to (presumably, their) website.
However, what is more disconcerting is that these users are reporting that ALL of their articles/news were spammed! Again, if that doesn't smell of a script/bot, I don't know what does. I don't see a legitimate reason to keep this JackFromWales4u2 account on your site!
View next topic View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum