| Author |
Message |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:32 pm |
|
I have several mail domains blocked in the users - limits but there is one that I have removed but it is still being blocked for users attempting to register. Where is this table in the DB ?
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:45 pm |
|
I think I found the problem and it appears to be a bug. At one time I had gmail.com as a blocked domain. I removed it and it still shows as a blocked domain when a attempts to register. I removed mail.com and now gmail.com is allowed.
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
Raven Site Admin/Owner

Joined: Aug 27, 2002 Posts: 16987 Location: Kansas
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:06 am |
|
Is this in NukeSentinel(tm) or RNYA? |
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:35 am |
|
This is in the "Edit Users" "configuration" menu.
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
fkelly Moderator

Joined: Aug 30, 2005 Posts: 3186 Location: near Albany NY
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:28 am |
|
Check your string blockers configuration in NS just to be sure you don't have it blocked as a string in addition to having it blocked in RNYA. These are separate blocks and some of us old fogies have found ourselves forgetting that lately and blocking something in both places. |
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:39 am |
|
Nope, not in the string blockers. If I remove "mail.com" then gmail works. If I re-add "mail.com" then gmail is blocked. Weird ...
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
fkelly Moderator

Joined: Aug 30, 2005 Posts: 3186 Location: near Albany NY
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:49 am |
|
I haven't run this through any tests but in functions.php in the /includes directory of YA, in the ya_MailCheckB function we do this:
| Code: | if ($ya_config['bad_mail'] > '') {
$BadMailList = explode("\r\n", $ya_config['bad_mail']);
$j = count($BadMailList);
for ($i = 0;$i < $j;++$i) {
if (eregi($BadMailList[$i], $user_email)) $return = 'false';
}
} |
$BadMailList will be an array of blocked domains from your YA configuration. I'm thinking that mail.com, being a subset of gmail.com will cause a match in the eregi and thus cause the gmail to be blocked. We might need to use another function that looks for an exact match but I'll leave that determination to the eregi experts or someone who has time to experiment. |
|
|
|
 |
Palbin Site Admin

Joined: Mar 30, 2006 Posts: 2456 Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:13 pm |
|
Give this a try
| Code: |
if ($ya_config['bad_mail'] > '') {
$BadMailList = explode("\r\n", $ya_config['bad_mail']);
$email_parts = explode('@', $user_email);
$j = count($BadMailList);
for ($i = 0;$i < $j;++$i) {
if ($BadMailList[$i] == $email_parts[1]) $return = 'false';
}
}
|
|
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 1:55 pm |
|
If I am editing the correct file - functions.php - then that doesn't work, mail.com still blocks gmail.com
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
Palbin Site Admin

Joined: Mar 30, 2006 Posts: 2456 Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:03 pm |
|
I didn't test it before, but I will no because I don't see how that is possible  |
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:25 pm |
|
And I don't enough to know why not but the fact remains that mail.com will block gmail.com 100% reproducible on more than one domain installation.
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:34 pm |
|
Ok, there was two places in functions.php with the same code, I pasted the new code in the other one now and now it works.
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
Palbin Site Admin

Joined: Mar 30, 2006 Posts: 2456 Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:57 pm |
|
My above code change works, but i did find a bug in the form checker on the registration page. If you try a blocked address and it tells you its blocked, and then try a second blocked address it will tell you that the first address is the one that is blocked. This happens no matter how many blocked emails you try.
dad7732, make sure you changed the ya_mailCheckB function not the ya_mailCheck function. Both of them need changed, but the ya_mailCheckB function is the one causing the problem here. |
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 3:00 pm |
|
I only changed one as per my reply above. After checking the file I found the second one and changed that as well. It works now .. thanks.
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
Palbin Site Admin

Joined: Mar 30, 2006 Posts: 2456 Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 4:41 pm |
|
Sorry must have been typing when you responded. |
|
|
|
 |
fkelly Moderator

Joined: Aug 30, 2005 Posts: 3186 Location: near Albany NY
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 4:45 pm |
|
Thanks also Palbin. But I have to confess I'm a little uneasy with this solution but don't have time to hammer on it now. The variable $BadMailList will be an array with one element for each email domain you ban. So if you ban mail.com and mail.ru then $BadMailList[0] will be "mail.com" and $BadMailList[1] will be "mail.ru". No? So then you are exploding user_email on the @ sign. If a user puts in then $email_parts[0] will be kibbles and $email_parts[1] will be gmail.com. No? So then you will never match on $BadMailList[$i] being equal to $email_parts[1]. Sorry out of time but I think we need to look at this more carefully. There is some form of eregi that does an exact match I think. |
|
|
|
 |
dad7732 RavenNuke(tm) Development Team

Joined: Mar 18, 2007 Posts: 1191
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:18 pm |
|
I have both mail.com and mail.ru in the block list, gmail is not blocked. So what is the downside of this, I'll experiment with it if you tell me what to do.
Cheers |
|
|
|
 |
fkelly Moderator

Joined: Aug 30, 2005 Posts: 3186 Location: near Albany NY
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:49 pm |
|
try entering a user with mail.com and see if it gets blocked. |
|
|
|
 |
Palbin Site Admin

Joined: Mar 30, 2006 Posts: 2456 Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:15 pm |
|
In the Limits it says "Blocked Mail Domains" so that is how I handled it. If you want to ban an individual email then yes it will need rewritten. I don't see the point in blocking an individual email since it is fairly easy to get a new on now a days.
I'm going to open a mantis issue because this is a bug no matter how we look at it. |
Last edited by Palbin on Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:27 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
|
 |
Palbin Site Admin

Joined: Mar 30, 2006 Posts: 2456 Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:25 pm |
|
| fkelly wrote: | | Thanks also Palbin. But I have to confess I'm a little uneasy with this solution but don't have time to hammer on it now. The variable $BadMailList will be an array with one element for each email domain you ban. So if you ban mail.com and mail.ru then $BadMailList[0] will be "mail.com" and $BadMailList[1] will be "mail.ru". No? So then you are exploding user_email on the @ sign. If a user puts in then $email_parts[0] will be kibbles and $email_parts[1] will be gmail.com. No? So then you will never match on $BadMailList[$i] being equal to $email_parts[1]. Sorry out of time but I think we need to look at this more carefully. There is some form of eregi that does an exact match I think. |
Ok I think I misunderstood what you were trying to say, but I think you typed something wrong. You said that if you have $BadMailList[0]=>mail.com and $BadMailList[1]=>mail.ru and then user enters . Well gmail.com isn't blocked so it wouldn't/shouldn't match.
Now if you meant to say it would hit because $email_parts[1]=>mail.com and it would cycle through the entire $BadMailList array. |
|
|
|
 |
fkelly Moderator

Joined: Aug 30, 2005 Posts: 3186 Location: near Albany NY
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 6:27 pm |
|
yeah, you are right Palbin. Still it would be good to have it in Mantis and just have some other less tired eyes than mine look at it. But yeah we would just want to block domains. |
|
|
|
 |
kguske Site Admin

Joined: Jun 04, 2004 Posts: 6044
|
Posted:
Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:19 pm |
|
This was a known issue, I believe. I'm OK with changing it, but it needs to be clearly described in case some wanted that behavior. |
|
|
|
 |
montego Site Admin

Joined: Aug 29, 2004 Posts: 9136 Location: Arizona
|
Posted:
Sat Aug 22, 2009 8:20 am |
|
I am ok as well and the label on the page says this clearly IMO: "Blocked Mail Domains". It doesn't say "Blocked Email Addresses" or "Blocked Mail Domains/Addresses". I think we're "good"? |
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|