Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> How To's
Serafim
Worker
Worker

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:05 am Reply with quote

Well being a newb i once again assumed that this file would work.. Problem is I have to set it up.. What I would like to do is get this sites imput.. Since you understand exactly how these things work.. I would like to have a robots.txt that keeps bots out of all areas except the main index.. How would this be accomplished.. TIA

Site Admin/Owner

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:17 am Reply with quote

Here is pretty much the base standard. note that you will only have /abuse/ if you have NukeSentinel(tm) installed.

User-agent: *
Disallow: /abuse/
Disallow: /admin/
Disallow: /blocks/
Disallow: /cgi-bin/
Disallow: /db/
Disallow: /images/
Disallow: /includes/
Disallow: /language/
Disallow: /modules/
Disallow: /themes/
Disallow: /admin.php
Disallow: /config.php

Serafim

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:35 am Reply with quote

Ok this is what i have

User-agent: Mediapartners-Google*
Disallow:
User-agent: *
Disallow: admin.php
Disallow: /admin/
Disallow: /images/
Disallow: /includes/
Disallow: /themes/
Disallow: /blocks/
Disallow: /modules/
Disallow: /language/

Can something be added here to make this better.. Or how can i just disallow all bots in general from everything but index.php.. I would assume that for search engines they would need to have something to probe

And thanks Raven for responding

kguske
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 3:22 pm Reply with quote

I'd go with Raven's suggestion. You don't want spiders hitting your admin and config files. Google will respect the robots.txt file, so there's no need to have a special user-agent for that.

Serafim

PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 3:28 pm Reply with quote

So the code that he posted i just copy and paste that in the file called robots.txt

kguske