Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> FCKeditor/WYSIWYG Issues
bugsy
Worker
Worker

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:56 am Reply with quote

Hi,

I have recently installed RN2.2 in one site and have enabled the FCK Editor. What I found our that though as an Admin I can post images or link to images as a normal user the image function is not visible or not available.

My question is - is it possible to let users post images too? (At least hotlink to it if not upload) ?

And if so ... does it affect the security of the site?

kguske
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 4:23 pm Reply with quote

From the nukeWYSIWYG readme.txt:
Code:
   The 3rd argument defines the toolbar set, which controls which functions are 

available to the user.  Since these functions can present security risks,
   this should be chosen carefully.  By default, the most limited toolset bar
   will be chosen.  In admin functions, you may choose to use PHPNukeAdmin which
   loads all FCKeditor functions.  The NukeUser toolbar set is more limited,
   more secure and loads faster.

And:
Code:
CUSTOM SECURITY SETTINGS

Security settings, in the form of custom toolbar settings ("toolbar sets"), are
defined in includes/fckeditor/fckconfig.js.  Several are used with nukeWYSIWYG,
including PHPNukeAdmin, NukeUser, and PHPNuke.  By modifying or creating
additional toolsets, you can flexibly define access to different functions in
FCKeditor.

To answer your questions: yes, it's possible to let users post images, and yes, it can affect the security of the site.

bugsy

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:23 pm Reply with quote

Hi kguske,

After reading your note I did try to incorporate the 'Image' in user toolbar. As you said its loading now from the user account.