Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Modules
spyrule
Worker
Worker

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:44 am Reply with quote

Hello,

I am just getting into writing a few modules for the most recent version of raven nuke.

I am wondering a few things...

1) Is a module ALWAYS connected to the same Db as the website? meaning to I have to call to it in any special way to "connect" to the database?

2) If I want to pass form data back to a the modules single index.php file,
and I want to pass a set variable back along with the data (I want to be able to set : HasRun = 0; on initial, then HasRun=1; on first form result, and then HasRun = 2; on final second form result, and once that is done, reset HasRun =0; so that it starts over. How do I pass the incremental value of this variable back to the module itself, preferably using a method that is hidden from the user (not in the URL) ?

3) How do I double check module permissions access for more then one group (ex. Major Accounts Managers, Managers, Administrator groups) ?

Thank you in advance, this site kicks Akaching! and so does raven.

also any other "look out for's" when coding modules with forms, is apreciated.

Spyrule

Gremmie
Former Moderator in Good Standing

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:59 am Reply with quote

1) There is a global object called $db that modules can use to access the site database.
2) An input type="hidden" variable in a POST form would keep it out of the URL
3) I've never used the Group feature. Sorry.

Google for the PHP-Nuke How-To. It has a tutorial on module building. Good luck!

spyrule

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:20 pm Reply with quote

Thanks,

I read the how-to, but to be honest, it is lacking quite a bit in the sense of the total scope of things that can/should can't/shouldn't be done inside modules (especially when it comes to security).

Gremmie