Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Post Installation Help
Author Message
andrej
Hangin' Around



Joined: Sep 10, 2005
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 5:09 am Reply with quote

Hello !

My site is using UTF-8 as it's default encoding..

I would like to display a rss feed from a news site, which uses ISO-8859-2 encoding..
Is there any way so that the characters don't get messed up ???
 
View user's profile Send private message
VinDSL
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles



Joined: Jul 11, 2004
Posts: 614
Location: Arizona (USA) Admin: NukeCops.com Admin: Disipal Designs Admin: Lenon.com

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 6:11 pm Reply with quote

The 'rule' states -- one Character Set Encoding per page -- but that doesn't keep you from having more than one char set per web site... Wink

For instance, I use ISO-8859-1 for most of my production site (example):
[ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]

However, I use UFT-8 encoding for a couple of modules (examples):
[ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ] [ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]

To do this, I have hacked 'includes/meta.php'.

Code:
<snip>


##################################################
# Include for Meta Tags generation - Hacked by VinDSL (lenon.com)  #
##################################################

global $name;
if ($name=='ODP'||$name=='ChatterBox_DSL') {
echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Content-Type\" CONTENT=\"text/html; charset=UTF-8\">\n";
} else {
echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"Content-Type\" CONTENT=\"text/html; charset="._CHARSET."\">\n";
}
echo "<META HTTP-EQUIV=\"EXPIRES\" CONTENT=\"0\">\n";
echo "<META NAME=\"RESOURCE-TYPE\" CONTENT=\"DOCUMENT\">\n";
echo "<META NAME=\"DISTRIBUTION\" CONTENT=\"GLOBAL\">\n";
echo "<META NAME=\"AUTHOR\" CONTENT=\"$sitename\">\n";
echo "<META NAME=\"DESIGNER\" CONTENT=\"VinDSL\">\n";

<snip>


That's the only way I know of doing it... Cool

_________________
.:: "The further in you go, the bigger it gets!" ::.
.:: VinDSL's Lenon.com | The Disipal Site ::. 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
montego
Site Admin



Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9457
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:44 am Reply with quote

Thanks Vin! I think this might possibly be the solution for this issue as well...
[ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]

_________________
Where Do YOU Stand?
HTML Newsletter::ShortLinks::Mailer::Downloads and more... 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Post Installation Help

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©