Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Security - PHP Nuke
Author Message
Neveryll
New Member
New Member



Joined: Nov 22, 2005
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 8:46 pm Reply with quote

Hi hi all,

I'm currently in the process of trying to set up a business website using PHP-Nuke. Its a small business and the ease and neatness of PHPNuke is what attracted us to using it. We started out grabbing a new host and decided to try PHP-Nuke 7.9... A week later after reading piles of posts saying...

DON'T USE 7.9

... I'm still cringing... Sigh.

We haven't done anything more than some rudimentry modifications and want to place the emphasis on trying to be as secure as possible before any features that may have come in the list versions to come out. We have an old website running 7.5 but in the spirit of keeping up to date we wanted to go with 7.9. And have been regretting it ever since.

What version would people recommend as a good base to start with?

What version of Nuke Sentinel would be advised to use with such?

Any opinions on such would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Nev
 
View user's profile Send private message
Raven
Site Admin/Owner



Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17088

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:03 pm Reply with quote

Nuke v7.6pl3.1
NukeSentinel(tm) v2.4.2
 
View user's profile Send private message
Neveryll







PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:06 pm Reply with quote

Thanks a bunch Raven for the quick reply. Going to try setting them up tonight yet on the server and work up from there. We had a few other mods to add to the base install that didn't work under 7.9 anyway hehe. Smile

Will keep yah posted how it goes.
 
Neveryll







PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:36 pm Reply with quote

Hmmm attempted to pull down the most current version of Sentinel and it redirected me to the website below. Downloaded the file and opened it up to a big nothing?!?! Wonder if their copy is corrupt or not....
[ Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! ]
 
Raven







PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:50 pm Reply with quote

Works just fine for me. It's more than likely the long-standing Internet Explorer bug since SP2 that's documented in several places here in these forums. Search the forums for tar.tar
 
Neveryll







PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:56 pm Reply with quote

Got it downloaded the other night and began the process of modifying the files to get Nuke Sentinel running. Ran into a block of sorts though. I supposedly am running with 7.6 ver 3.1 but can't seem to find a hunk of code in the mainfile.php I need to modify.

Acording to the Mainfile 7.6.txt I'm supposed to find...

Code:


if (defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {
   @require_once("../../../config.php");
   @require_once("../../../db/db.php");
   @require_once("../../../includes/sql_layer.php");
   if (file_exists("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php")) { @include_once("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php"); }
   @require_once("../../../includes/ipban.php");
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php")) { @include_once("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php"); }
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php")) { @include_once("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php"); }
} elseif (defined('INSIDE_MOD')) {
   @require_once("../../config.php");
   @require_once("../../db/db.php");
   @require_once("../../includes/sql_layer.php");
   if (file_exists("../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php")) { @include_once("../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php"); }
   @require_once("../../includes/ipban.php");
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php")) { @include_once("../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php"); }
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php")) { @include_once("../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php"); }
} else {
   @require_once("config.php");
   @require_once("db/db.php");
   @require_once("includes/sql_layer.php");
   if (file_exists("includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php")) { @include_once("includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php"); }
   @require_once("includes/ipban.php");
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("includes/custom_files/custom_head.php")) { @include_once("includes/custom_files/custom_head.php"); }
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("includes/custom_files/custom_header.php")) { @include_once("includes/custom_files/custom_header.php"); }
}


And make it look like this...

Code:
if (defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {

   @require_once("../../../config.php");
   @require_once("../../../db/db.php");
   @require_once("../../../includes/sql_layer.php");
   if (file_exists("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php")) { @include_once("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php"); }
   //@require_once("../../../includes/ipban.php");
   @include_once("../../../includes/nukesentinel.php");
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php")) { @include_once("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php"); }
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php")) { @include_once("../../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php"); }
} elseif (defined('INSIDE_MOD')) {
   @require_once("../../config.php");
   @require_once("../../db/db.php");
   @require_once("../../includes/sql_layer.php");
   if (file_exists("../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php")) { @include_once("../../includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php"); }
   //@require_once("../../includes/ipban.php");
   @include_once("../../includes/nukesentinel.php");
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php")) { @include_once("../../includes/custom_files/custom_head.php"); }
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php")) { @include_once("../../includes/custom_files/custom_header.php"); }
} else {
   @require_once("config.php");
   @require_once("db/db.php");
   @require_once("includes/sql_layer.php");
   if (file_exists("includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php")) { @include_once("includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php"); }
   //@require_once("includes/ipban.php");
   @include_once("includes/nukesentinel.php");
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("includes/custom_files/custom_head.php")) { @include_once("includes/custom_files/custom_head.php"); }
   if (defined('NUKE_HEADER') && file_exists("includes/custom_files/custom_header.php")) { @include_once("includes/custom_files/custom_header.php"); }
}


But all I can find is this...

Code:


if(defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {
  define('INCLUDE_PATH', '../../../');
} elseif(defined('INSIDE_MOD')) {
  define('INCLUDE_PATH', '../../');
} else {
  define('INCLUDE_PATH', './');
}

@require_once(INCLUDE_PATH."config.php");
@require_once(INCLUDE_PATH."db/db.php");
@require_once(INCLUDE_PATH."includes/sql_layer.php");
@require_once(INCLUDE_PATH."includes/ipban.php");
if (file_exists(INCLUDE_PATH."includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php")) {
  @include_once(INCLUDE_PATH."includes/custom_files/custom_mainfile.php");
}

if (!defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {
  if(empty($admin_file)) {
    die ("You must set a value for admin_file in config.php");
  } elseif (!empty($admin_file) && !file_exists($admin_file.".php")) {
    die ("The admin_file you defined in config.php does not exist");
  }
}


Now this is working off a non uploaded version. Do I need to set up the site and then pull it from the "live" version of the mainfile.php?
 
Raven







PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:24 pm Reply with quote

This is answered several times in the forum. Search Wink
 
Neveryll







PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 8:47 pm Reply with quote

Ahhh kk

Let me know if I got this wrong but in the code I'm referencing in the mainfile.php your having us comment out the lines using the "//" that call the ipban.php and putting in a replacement line underneath it that instead calls the nukesentinel.php module?
 
Neveryll







PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 9:27 pm Reply with quote

Got her up and running with Nuke Sentinel. Smile

Thanks for the help. Next fun thing... Trying to get NuCalender to work heheh.
 
Raven







PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:16 pm Reply with quote

Cheers
 
Quake
New Member
New Member



Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 3:59 am Reply with quote

Well actually when i wrote that part, INCLUDE_PATH, i didnt update any readme's for Nuke Patched Embarassed

Im sorry guys
 
View user's profile Send private message
Neveryll







PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:30 pm Reply with quote

No worries. I've done some basic programming in the past so I kinda can muddle through some stuff ok. Got her up and running so no worries on my part. I just wanted to post my expereince so as Raven has put it others can search the boards. heheh

I'm actually kinda surprise the RTFM smiley isn't a STFB smiley. Cool
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Security - PHP Nuke

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©