Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> How To's
Author Message
jakec
Site Admin


Joined: Feb 06, 2006
Posts: 3048
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:00 pm Reply with quote

Darn it. I thought I had it sorted.

Why does it need to be in the meta.php? Confused
 
View user's profile Send private message
Guardian2003
Site Admin


Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 6793
Location: Ha Noi, Viet Nam

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:14 pm Reply with quote

It doesnt, I thought the pratice would be good but if I remember, you are using nukeSEO so leave it where it is Smile
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jakec
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 1:31 pm Reply with quote

Phew!!! Laughing
 
liqiud
Regular
Regular


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:52 pm Reply with quote

jakec wrote:
I've been determined to get my favicon to work in both Firefox and IE6.

It was easy to do in Firefox, just added favicon.ico to the root and bang, but IE was a bit more difficult.

I added the following to the header.php:
Code:
echo '<link rel="shortcut icon" HREF="http://www.mydomain.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">'."\n";


This seems to work fine for me, but what I did learn is not to create your image as a .bmp and then change the extension to .ico . I know everyone is going to tell me that it was obvious, but I thought it would work at the time and it did display correctly in Firefox. In the end I used Easy Icon Maker and bang it now works in IE.

To check your favicon is going to work in IE try accessing it directly by going to: Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! If you get the red x then it won't work.


I tried this, and while it still works in Firefox, it still doesn't work in IE. my url is Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! and the icon is at Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!

Thanks.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:01 pm Reply with quote

You have used a renamed BMP image thats why - or at least that is what Firefox browser is telling me!
 
gregexp
The Mouse Is Extension Of Arm


Joined: Feb 21, 2006
Posts: 1497
Location: In front of a screen....HELP! lol

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:14 pm Reply with quote

Another thing that should be mentioned, IE and favicons dont mesh well, I honestly dont know why, but every single thing I have read and every person I've talked to has reported to me that there is no definate way of making favicons work in IE.

_________________
For those who stand shall NEVER fall and those who fall shall RISE once more!! 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
liqiud
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:40 pm Reply with quote

i'll try re-creating the icon, even though it started out as a png. Sad if that doesn't work, oh well, at least firefox is working.
 
jakec
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:05 pm Reply with quote

Like Guardian says you really do need to make sure you've got a piece of software to create proper .ico files.

I've found that sometimes if it isn't working you can click on the IE favicon and click 'n' drag it to the right, then it starts working. Odd, but it seems to work, although it doesn't really help your visitors.
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> How To's

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©