Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> NukeSentinel™
Author Message
nikits72
Regular
Regular


Joined: Jan 06, 2005
Posts: 80
Location: Athens/Greece

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 1:54 pm Reply with quote

Hi all.

After i read all (or so i think) the posts concerning this subject i have a problem.
(Voice from above--> Oh really? What a surprise Mr. Green)

As soon as i set the HTTP Auth to on i keep get asked about my username and password. I use the codes from the mail i received by sentinel but nothing.

Info:
Sentinsel latest version.
Phpnuke 7.6

After all this reading, I have to admin i dont understand what i should put in the .htacceess file and this is probably my mistake.
(Voice from above again--> Also admit that you are a stupid newbbie ROTFL )

Thank you for your time reading this.

_________________
nikits72 with the unexploding grenade... 
View user's profile Send private message
TheosEleos
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles


Joined: Sep 18, 2003
Posts: 960
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:43 pm Reply with quote

Make sure you go into 'Admin Auth List' and set your password there.

_________________
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address ICQ Number
nikits72
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:31 pm Reply with quote

Thank you TheosEleos for your reply.
(Btw dont know if this is a coincidence but in greek TheosEleos translate as:
Theos=God,Eleos=Mercy)

i m going to do that right now.
Yet,still i have the question.What should i put in the .htaccess file?
1)Leave it empty?
2) use the below code (taken from sample.htaccess)assuming i will replace the real path and i will have an .staccess file too:
Quote:
Options All -Indexes
DirectoryIndex index.php index.htm index.html

# -------------------------------------------
# Start of NukeSentinel(tm) admin.php Auth
# -------------------------------------------
<Files .staccess>
deny from all
</Files>

<Files admin.php>
<Limit GET POST PUT>
require valid-user
</Limit>
AuthName "Restricted"
AuthType Basic
AuthUserFile /path/to/your/.staccess
</Files>

# -------------------------------------------
# Start of NukeSentinel(tm) DENY FROM area
# -------------------------------------------


3) Use the code used in post
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
But then this is used for cgi auth no?

So which one of the 3 is correct?
(Voice--> Why dont you try all of them and then enlighten us too nikits? Twisted Evil )

Thx for your time reading this.
 
TheosEleos
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:09 pm Reply with quote

I don't have any of that stuff in my .htaccess and use HTTP Auth. Just make sure you do have an .htaccess file and that it has at least one empty line at the end for Sentinel to write to. Make sure that you have configued Sentinel to know where .htaccess is and that you set up all your blocking categories to write to it.

Quote:
(Btw dont know if this is a coincidence but in greek TheosEleos translate as:
Theos=God,Eleos=Mercy)


You are the first person to figure this out, that I know of.

I made that name because God has shown me so much more mercy than I deserve.
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 4:00 am Reply with quote

Hi again.
Thank you theoseleos for your try to help me.

Now ,based on your suggestion here is what i do:

1.
Quote:
I don't have any of that stuff in my .htaccess and use HTTP Auth.Just make sure you do have an .htaccess file and that it has at least one empty line at the end for Sentinel to write to

-I make an empty .htaccess file with at least one empty line at the end.As a matter of fact i put nothing else inside except the empty line.
-Upload it to root.
-Changed mode to 666.

2.
Quote:
Make sure that you have configued Sentinel to know where .htaccess is

From Admin Auth List i edit the username and password.Save changes and receive the mail by nukesentinel about the change.Sentinel says this user is protected set to yes.I use god admin username and pass.
I set in sentiel the path to the .htaccess file (root) using the ravens script in order to find the real path.

Now until now i think i am doing everything ok.
Yet when i try to reach admin.php starts and keeps asking me about username and password.I provide them but it just keep asking for them.
After all these i downloaded the .htaccess file to see if there is something written inside it.It is still empty.

I wonder what i am doing wrong.
Any ideas?
(Crowd's voice--->Well nikits,we bet you are out of any Cool )

Thx.

P.S. It was easy to notice since Greek is my native language and it is more than rare in internet to read greek words (TheosEleos) so you notice it whenever.You are from the few persons that i know of who figures out god's mercy on them.Most of us ,ignore it.
 
TheosEleos
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:42 am Reply with quote

When using HTTP Auth that window that pops up and asks for password and username is Sentinel. Once you answer those questions the next page is Nuke admin log in.

I would reset your nuke admin password to match the Sentinel password you set.
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 7:12 pm Reply with quote

Hi again,

Quote:
I would reset your nuke admin password to match the Sentinel password you set.


It seems so simple but i really dont get it.
(Crowd's voice--> Have you though that maybe you are not so smart after all nikits? )
Because i set the same username and password to sentinel as the ones i already have set for god admin.
So they are already the same Rolling Eyes .

But since this is the only suggestion i have right now ,i guess, i will have to try it.

Thx and excuse my lame english.
 
TheosEleos
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 10:50 pm Reply with quote

Image

Don't worry. We will get this figured out. I am more than happy to help.
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:37 am Reply with quote

Quote:
Don't worry. We will get this figured out. I am more than happy to help

(Crowd's voice--> Well we bet nikitas is evenmore happy that you are happy to help him Cool ).

Using this raven's script :
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
i reset the god admin password and set it as the one i use for sentinel.A really strange procedure to do since they were already the same but there was no other suggestion.Unfortunatelly it didnt gave any results.
After,when i set the http auth to on, the same window pops up,i enter the passes and the window pumps on again asking again ..i enter...and the beat it goes on....as the title of the song says.
(Crowd's voice--> This is called the window's revenge.Bill Gates and his windows are not the only windows that punish you nikits HitsFan

So TheosEleos ,do you have any explanation/suggestion what my problem might be,apart that i hear voices Smile

But thank you anyway for your tries to help me.You see it happens to be a humble admin in another small site so i know how sometimes it is really dif to understand the problem and even more difficult to help them solve it....
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:25 pm Reply with quote

By now i have search in at least 7 phpnuke related forums,the ones i think are the best to find a solution in my problem.
I found nothing.And not only this.In the few i found the subject under conversation they were by far behind from what i have learned reading the relative topics here.

So ,it seems that if i wont find the answer here ,i wont find it at all.

Is this a so rare problem?
Is this a so difficult problem?

If someone knows how to solve it ,please reply.

Thx much.
 
TheosEleos
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 7:41 pm Reply with quote

Did you also set up CGI Auth as well?

If you did delete those settings and try.
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:42 pm Reply with quote

Well ,
at start i tried to setup cgi Auth too.
But while reading on how to do that i realised i couldnt.I dont exactly remember why i ended up to this conglusion.If i recall right it was because my PHP was compiled as an Apache module OR because i tried to setup both http and cgi auths and my browser was getting migrains Smile

So i started over trying to set up only http auth.
Cgi auth is turned off all the time we are disgussing this.
 
TheosEleos
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:58 pm Reply with quote

I'm out of ideas. I'll see if I can get Raven to help us out.
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:02 pm Reply with quote

Much Obliged for your efforts till now TheosEleos.
No matter if you manage to reach him or not.
 
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17086

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 5:30 pm Reply with quote

Please PM me your
site url adminid/pass
ftp url id/pass
phpMyAdmin url, id/pass
 
View user's profile Send private message
Raven
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:56 pm Reply with quote

Before I delve into this, are you sure that you downloaded the 7.6 version? There is one version for 6.5-7.5 and a separate one for 7.6
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:34 am Reply with quote

I am afraid i am.
I remember there were 2 diff versions and i downloaded the 7.6 one.
Right now i just checked the file name of the file i downloaded and still keep and is :
NukeSentinel_760_213.tar.gz
So i cant be wrong on that.
 
Raven
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:12 am Reply with quote

okay, I'll look in to this today.
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:46 am Reply with quote

Well ,
what can i say except the old greek proverb which says:
"O logos soy me xortase kai to pswmi sou fato"
which means -translation adaptated for this occasion- that i am thankful even if you wont find the solution or even if you wont find the time to look in to it at all.
 
Raven
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:43 pm Reply with quote

Apache 2.0 has bugs concerning HTTPAuth. Apache 2 is not recommended for production sites. I recommend that you back down to Apache 1.3.31
 
nikits72
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:34 am Reply with quote

So i guess i wont be able to have http auth or cgi auth either .

That is a problem i couldnt possibly imagine when i was searching for hosting company .
(Crowd's voice--> You ll say this line many more times in the future nikits ROTFL )

Many thanks to TheosEleos and Raven for their time.

Thx.
 
muzzy
New Member
New Member


Joined: Jan 22, 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:35 am Reply with quote

Hi all. Reading carefully this post I'm sure now I have the same problem as nikits72 (Apache 2.0). What do you recommend for those like us who have this version? Is Sentinel working properly without cgi or http Admin Auth?

Tanks in advance (and thanks for Sentinel too!)
 
View user's profile Send private message
sixonetonoffun
Spouse Contemplates Divorce


Joined: Jan 02, 2003
Posts: 2496

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:02 am Reply with quote

Friends don't let friends use Apache2 lol

Sorry couldn't resist.
I haven't tested it on Apache2 because it breaks so many other applications. I've run into only a couple of people who are using it and they are having huge problems with older apps like My eGallery where file uploads are involved. But since you are using it I would recommend testing the install to the best of my knowledge the rest of the code will work as intended.

_________________
[b][size=5]openSUSE 11.4-x86 | Linux 2.6.37.1-1.2desktop i686 | KDE: 4.6.41>=4.7 | XFCE 4.8 | AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3000+ | MSI K7N2 Delta-L | 3GB Black Diamond DDR
| GeForce 6200@433Mhz 512MB | Xorg 1.9.3 | NVIDIA 270.30[/size:2b8 
View user's profile Send private message
muzzy
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:12 am Reply with quote

Thanks for your quick reply. I'm testing sentinel with some scripts published in this forum and it seems to work but I'm not sure it is installed and working properly... How could I be sure?
 
sixonetonoffun
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:49 pm Reply with quote

Well I don't like to link to this stuff but anyway you can see several examples of code at Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! waraxe. us but... since its a nuke site lol
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> NukeSentinel™

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©