Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Security - PHP Nuke
Author Message
Jigsatics
New Member
New Member


Joined: Apr 26, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:35 pm Reply with quote

Hi!

I noticed that a lot of Nuke sites including this have Google ads as a banner. What is the benefit of doing this?

_________________
Domains for as low as $4.95! Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17077

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:40 pm Reply with quote

Every time anyone clicks through the ads, CACHUNG goes cash into your account! Come on folks start clicking!
 
View user's profile Send private message
GeekyGuy
Client


Joined: Jun 03, 2004
Posts: 302
Location: Huber Heights Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:42 pm Reply with quote

Jigsatics,

Google Adsense is a way to make more income from your website.

More infomation can be found Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!

Hope this helped explain it some

_________________
"The Daytona 500 is ours! We won it, we won it, we won it!", Dale Earnhardt, February 15th, 1998, Daytona 500 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Jigsatics
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:12 pm Reply with quote

How do you add the banner on the site? I already have an account but it asks me to cut and paste a code. I cannot cut and paste a code because the banner option in nuke asks for a URL.
 
swede
Hangin' Around


Joined: Jun 21, 2004
Posts: 48
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:41 pm Reply with quote

Code:
<?

/
$content = <<<_JS_
<!-- Begin Google code. -->
***Enter Google code they give you here***
<!-- end of Google -->
_JS_;
?>


Save it as block_google.php upload it to your site and create block

_________________
Go Tigers! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
sixonetonoffun
Spouse Contemplates Divorce


Joined: Jan 02, 2003
Posts: 2496

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 3:42 pm Reply with quote

You can also just add the code to your theme this works nice when you want to load it above the nuke header as you'll see on many sites.

_________________
[b][size=5]openSUSE 11.4-x86 | Linux 2.6.37.1-1.2desktop i686 | KDE: 4.6.41>=4.7 | XFCE 4.8 | AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3000+ | MSI K7N2 Delta-L | 3GB Black Diamond DDR
| GeForce 6200@433Mhz 512MB | Xorg 1.9.3 | NVIDIA 270.30[/size:2b8 
View user's profile Send private message
Muffin
Client


Joined: Apr 10, 2004
Posts: 649
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:18 pm Reply with quote

2 questions:

1. Do you get much cash from this because I've found in the past banner ads either on click or commission don't pay much if anything.

2. Does it slow the site down at all?

_________________
Classic Mini rules the bends & bends the rules!
[img] 
View user's profile Send private message
Nukeum66
Life Cycles Becoming CPU Cycles


Joined: Jul 30, 2003
Posts: 551
Location: Neurotic, State, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:54 pm Reply with quote

1. Google Ads vary in click pay outs anywhere from $0.03 and up.
They do not pay you until you've reached $100.00.

2. NO! Wink

I've been running google ads for about two months, I think I've reached about 60 bucks..... Laughing but it better than 0.... Wink

_________________
Scott Johnson MIS Ubuntu/Linux 11.10 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Muffin
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:57 pm Reply with quote

Well I've applied, but the tax thing is confusing. I'm not a business so not sure what happens there. I'll wait and see what they say about my application.

If they only pay out when you reach $100 I'd be waiting years on my site for any money Shocked

I have an Ebay affiliate box, but never had anything from that one lol
 
Dacubz
Worker
Worker


Joined: Apr 27, 2004
Posts: 156
Location: Homer Glen, Illinois

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 5:31 am Reply with quote

Sentinel won't let me do this type of block. It gives me a scripting ban.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tao_Man
Involved
Involved


Joined: Jul 15, 2004
Posts: 252
Location: OKC, OK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 7:32 am Reply with quote

You can turn off script blocking or just comment out sentinel make your change then go with back and turn it back on

Or activate a dummy block activate it, then edit it and past in the code outside of nuke.

_________________
------------------------------------------
To strive, to seek, to find, but not to yield!
I don't know Kara-te but I do know cra-zy, and I WILL use it! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Muffin
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:47 pm Reply with quote

lol took me ages to suss it out, and ended up switching off the script blocking in sentinel.

The only thing with my googleads is, I seem to get more service ads than normal ads, and the ads I do get are mostly nothing to do with autos which is what the main content of my site is.

But I guess it depends on how many car companies etc advertise through Google.

I've added Googleads Search now too, which seems more promising.
 
Dacubz
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:43 pm Reply with quote

I'm getting parse error on line 2 using the code now.

Code:
<?
/
$content = <<<_JS_
<!-- Begin Google code. -->
***Enter Google code they give you here***
<!-- end of Google -->
_JS_;
?>
 
sixonetonoffun
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:50 pm Reply with quote

Remove the single slash on line 2 its doing nothing there but causing the error.
 
Dacubz
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 7:23 pm Reply with quote

still the parse problem.
 
sixonetonoffun
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 7:33 pm Reply with quote

Email me the file and I'll see if I can sort it out quick.
webmaster//**//netflake.com
 
Muffin
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:55 am Reply with quote

I'm going to try and get both the googleads and googleads search into one center block today. Both the ads and the ads search look good as centre blocks, but I think if they were both in the same block it would look neater.

Do I just add the googleads code then the br br then the googleads search code into the section where you put your code? But thats html code lol

Or do you use something else in php to break the two codes, or do you just bung one in after the other one with all their opening/closing tags as in each individual code?

Sorry just want to get this right as I'm only learning Shocked Laughing
 
Doodle
Hangin' Around


Joined: Jan 26, 2004
Posts: 46
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 9:27 am Reply with quote

There are a bunch of downloads for the GoogleAds already made into nuke blocks. I think I write some a while ago too. PM me and I can send them to you. I think this is the link to the one I wrote a while back: Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!

_________________
Independent Network Solutions Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
64bitguy
The Mouse Is Extension Of Arm


Joined: Mar 06, 2004
Posts: 1159
Location: Sanbornton, NH USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:09 pm Reply with quote

I have pre-formatted Google blocks available in my Downloads area if you want them. They are used by hundreds of sites.

Hope they are what you are looking for.

_________________
Steph Benoit Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
1CMS, 100% Section 508 and W3C XHTML/CSS Compliant (Truly)

Last edited by 64bitguy on Thu Sep 02, 2004 2:33 pm; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Raven
PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 10:44 pm Reply with quote

Dacubz wrote:
Sentinel won't let me do this type of block. It gives me a scripting ban.
Sentinel (and vanilla nuke btw) will only trap this if you are trying to use an html block. If you create a block and store it in the blocks folder, neither will ban you.
 
Dacubz
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 5:30 am Reply with quote

Thanks, it's running now. But now some of our membership is whining about ads on the site...grrrrr!
 
blith
Client


Joined: Jul 18, 2003
Posts: 977

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 6:44 am Reply with quote

Dacubz wrote:
Thanks, it's running now. But now some of our membership is whining about ads on the site...grrrrr!

I found that by changing the colors of the ads and making them blend perfectly people don't mind so much...
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Muffin
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:42 am Reply with quote

Well I've had this running a few days now and so far I've collected .60 pence (GBP)

Which means it'll take me 7 years to earn $100 rofl (I get about 100,000 hits a month as well) I gotta train my members to click click click lol

64bitguy I'll pop over and look at your adsense blocks today. Thanks!
 
Tao_Man
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 2:19 pm Reply with quote

What files would you add it to if you wanted to add it to the themes.

I have tried adding it to my header but have not had any luck with that.

It works fine as a block.
 
Raven
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 2:30 pm Reply with quote

In your theme.php theme_header function find
Code:
    echo "<body bgcolor=\"#FFFFFF\" text=\"#606EC5\" link=\"#606EC5\" vlink=\"#606EC5\" alink=\"#4E5483\" leftmargin=\"1\" topmargin=\"1\" marginwidth=\"0\" marginheight=\"1\"><br>\n\n\n";
Now yours will look a bit different, but it's still the body tag. Right after that code add you google code
Code:


echo <<<_GOOGLE_
<center>
<!--PLACE YOUR GOOGLE CODE HERE-->
</center>
<br />
_GOOGLE_;
 
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Security - PHP Nuke

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©