Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> NukeSentinel™ v2.5.x
Author Message
manunkind
Client


Joined: Apr 26, 2004
Posts: 368
Location: Albuquerque, NM

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:25 pm Reply with quote

Is anybody else seeing that the main NukeSentinel admin page is now just displaying a blank page? All other non-NS admin pages are fine, it's just ABMain.

I tried the full install and the upgrade package, both the same. Is it just me?? Shocked

_________________
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Susann
Moderator


Joined: Dec 19, 2004
Posts: 3191
Location: Germany:Moderator German NukeSentinel Support

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:50 pm Reply with quote

No, I have also the same issue with 3 websites.
Turn error reporting on and post the fatal error or what your get.
I simple fixed this issues with replacing admin/modules/nukesentinel.php from 2.5.13


Happy New Year !
 
View user's profile Send private message
FireATST
RavenNuke(tm) Development Team


Joined: Jun 12, 2004
Posts: 637
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:30 pm Reply with quote

2sites that I have upgraded aren't blank on the main page. Everything seems to work ok so far..... Confused
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number
manunkind
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 8:35 pm Reply with quote

Susann wrote:
No, I have also the same issue with 3 websites.
Turn error reporting on and post the fatal error or what your get.
I simple fixed this issues with replacing admin/modules/nukesentinel.php from 2.5.13


Happy New Year !


You are correct. I replaced that file with the old one from 2.5.14 and it works fine now. Thanks!
 
Susann
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:01 am Reply with quote

The question is why there is code used in nukesentinel.php witch doesn´t work for everbody flawless since version 2.5.14.
 
manunkind
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:33 am Reply with quote

Here's a partial screenshot of a Winmerge between the broken file (left) and the old 2.5.14 file (right):
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!

It looks like the only thing that changed in that file was the "phoning home" feature.
 
Brujo
Regular
Regular


Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 84
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:56 am Reply with quote

same for me, i got this error:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function socket_create() in /my/path/admin/modules/nukesentinel.php on line 22
 
View user's profile Send private message
BobMarion
Former Admin in Good Standing


Joined: Oct 30, 2002
Posts: 1037
Location: RedNeck Land (known as Kentucky)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:23 pm Reply with quote

Not a true phone home, it checks to see if a newer version is out and lets you know in admin. 2.5.15 fixed a problem reported that it would hang when doing that check. BTW, it only checks for a newer version once a day but if it's hanging then it doesn't know it's already checked.

You can safely comment out that short section and I will recheck the coding as it works fine for me on all the sites I tested it on.

_________________
Bob Marion
Codito Ergo Sum
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BobMarion
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:36 pm Reply with quote

Need more info, on those that are having the problem I need to know what PHP version your server is running. If my reading is correct it is related to PHP version as to if the "socket_create" function exists.
 
Brujo
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:25 pm Reply with quote

BobMarion wrote:
Need more info, on those that are having the problem I need to know what PHP version your server is running. If my reading is correct it is related to PHP version as to if the "socket_create" function exi
ists.


PHP Version 5.2.4 with the Suhosin Patch 0.9.6.2

i am not sure, but it seems php has to be compiled with --enable-sockets to get the function working..

Brujo
 
manunkind
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:57 pm Reply with quote

Version 4.4.7
 
kaain
New Member
New Member


Joined: Oct 22, 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 7:07 am Reply with quote

Yep same problem here.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17077

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 10:36 am Reply with quote

Try this:

Edit admin/modules//nukesentinel.php

Change line 22
FROM
$socket = socket_create(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, SOL_TCP);
TO
$socket = @socket_create(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, SOL_TCP);

Change line 26
FROM
$result = socket_connect($socket, "209.62.115.130", 80);
TO
$result = @socket_connect($socket, "209.62.115.130", 80);


Last edited by Raven on Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:12 pm; edited 1 time in total 
View user's profile Send private message
Susann
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:59 pm Reply with quote

You meant line 22 and 26 in admin/modules/nukesentinel.php

Got a blank page.
 
Raven
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:13 pm Reply with quote

Susann wrote:
You meant line 22 and 26 in admin/modules/nukesentinel.php

Got a blank page.


Thanks - yes I did Wink

Is there any message in your log?
 
Raven
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:17 pm Reply with quote

You might also try changing

socket_strerror(socket_last_error($socket))
to
@socket_strerror(socket_last_error($socket))
 
Susann
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:17 pm Reply with quote

Nothing error_reporting is set to E_ALL;
 
Raven
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:21 pm Reply with quote

If none of these suggestions work then you will need to just comment out that block until a fix is issued. I have proposed a couple in Mantis and we'll wait to see what Bob decides on.
 
Susann
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:50 pm Reply with quote

I uploaded a fresh modified nukesentinel.php .Still blank page.
 
Raven
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 7:52 pm Reply with quote

Just blank out lines 21-59. You don't need them for protection.
 
warren-the-ape
Worker
Worker


Joined: Nov 19, 2007
Posts: 196
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:12 am Reply with quote

Copy from: Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!

Raven wrote:
Of course it's a work-around Smack ROTFL It's for those that have hosts that are afraid to release the power that users should have. It's not an error or a bug in the code. It's an environmental issue. Since you don't need that code for NukeSentinel(tm) protection it's the easiest and the quickest way to "fix" it. Personally I would not wait. there are other issus addressed in the releas and we don't have any idea when 2.5.16 will be released.


Thnx for the explanation Wink
But what i ment to say was that im a bit paranoid for updates that break things instead of updates them Razz

Well anyway, I just upgraded from 2.5.14 to 2.5.15 and had no problems at all, no blank screens or anything, so it was worth it after all Cool


Edit: What exactly are the 'Admin GUI updates.' ? Or are they to small to mention?
 
View user's profile Send private message
Raven
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:00 am Reply with quote

GUI = Graphical User Interface - The administration screens. Unless there's a functional type change it won't (usually) be detailed.
 
Raven
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:04 am Reply with quote

Susann wrote:
I uploaded a fresh modified nukesentinel.php .Still blank page.

Afaik, Bob is going to rewrite that section of code withe code that I gave him. Regardless, I'm pretty sure it will be rewritten w/o using sockets Smile
 
warren-the-ape
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:06 am Reply with quote

I know what GUI stands for, im an interaction designer myself Wink
Just wondered what those changes were as i didnt noticed any differences at first sight but understand now.

btw, noticed that within the copyright popup it still says; 2000-2007, but looking at the release date there is something to say for it Razz
 
Raven
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:17 am Reply with quote

I had no doubt that you knew the acronym but not everyone does. That's why I did it Smile. Thanks for the alert on the dates.
 
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> NukeSentinel™ v2.5.x

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©