Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> NukeSentinel™ v2.5.x
Author Message
Eck
Hangin' Around


Joined: Apr 09, 2005
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 6:47 pm Reply with quote

Guardian2003,

Take your time, all went smooth in the imports so now I await the emails. I appreciate all you time on this.
I have asked for screen shots so I can see exactly what is going on and what they are seeing especially if there is still an issue with this.
That way there is no well it said one thing and it really shows another. Maybe it can help you in some shape or form.

Thank you again for your time.
Eck
 
View user's profile Send private message
kamaleon
New Member
New Member


Joined: Jul 15, 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 6:49 pm Reply with quote

Guardian2003 wrote:
So you still cannot get into your site yourself?


Yes now yes... After to import the IP2C

Thanks you Guardian2003
 
View user's profile Send private message
Guardian2003
Site Admin


Joined: Aug 28, 2003
Posts: 6792
Location: Ha Noi, Viet Nam

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 6:53 pm Reply with quote

Eck No problem. If you get any emails just use the Sentienl 'Search IP' menu to see if they are listed. If they are not, you can add them.
 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 6:55 pm Reply with quote

kamleon Excellent!!
 
kguske
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 6383

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 7:44 pm Reply with quote

We need to confirm this - several are having this trouble.

_________________
I google, therefore I exist...
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
 
View user's profile Send private message
Eck
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:07 pm Reply with quote

I still have not heard anything back. So I am taking it so far, that it fixed the problem. Either way I will report back to let you know.

Thank you
Eck
 
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:11 pm Reply with quote

Agreed.
Although importing the IP2C data seems to have fixed every issue from tonights support enquiries it was not previously a requirement as has been pointed out in this or another thread (and in the old online manual).

What made me think of this as a possible fix was references to other posts where IP's had been banned and the IP had been found in the ICAN Reserved or Unknown category. As a consequence of importing the latest IP2C data it resolved those issues too.
 
gregexp
The Mouse Is Extension Of Arm


Joined: Feb 21, 2006
Posts: 1497
Location: In front of a screen....HELP! lol

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:14 pm Reply with quote

What a weird scenerio, I can find no instance of where it would block someone if ip2c wasnt installed or the ip found in the ip2c tables.

This is definitley an issue and I tried to debug it for a few sites I host but also same result, installing ip2c fixed it but it makes no sense.

_________________
For those who stand shall NEVER fall and those who fall shall RISE once more!! 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:21 pm Reply with quote

I think it is the way Sentinel is now validating incoming IP's. We have seen numerous instances where hackers have altered data packets trying to spoof IP's or used dodgy proxy servers and messed up by putting something silly as the IP address.
Instead of allowing everything in and THEN doing something with it, it is taking the opposite approach i.e. lets see if you are a real IP FIRST.
What you might call a proactive approach instead of reactive.
 
kguske
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:24 pm Reply with quote

Bob is looking into it.
 
ikvat
New Member
New Member


Joined: Sep 10, 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:47 am Reply with quote

Hi.
Well, i try to import data from ip2c but i can’t.
Firstly, i can't import all countries one at a time.
Secondly, i can't import French data. Time elapsed before the operation start.
Thx olivier
 
View user's profile Send private message
kguske
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:01 am Reply with quote

Please also see Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! and posted related messages there.
 
Eck
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:48 pm Reply with quote

Ok the ip2c did the trick I got emails back saying we can get on the sites now,Your wonderful thanks for fixing it...LOL I chuckled to myself and said Nah not me the boys over at raven are....Thank you guys for the hard work and suggestions. Much appreciated.

Thank you again.
Eck
 
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 2:03 pm Reply with quote

No problem. Update us in a couple of days to see if everything is still ok.
 
Eck
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:43 pm Reply with quote

Still going without any other problems. Updated ip2c yesterday also.

Eck
 
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:20 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for that Eck.
 
boham
New Member
New Member


Joined: May 05, 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:25 pm Reply with quote

I too am having the same issues with Sentinel 2.5. I imported the IP's from USA and CANADA into the Import to IP2Country section of sentinel.

My AOL and proxy users are still being blocked from the website.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:48 pm Reply with quote

Import them all and report back.
If they are still not getting access, any error or other messages will held.
Make sure block proxies is turned off.
 
boham
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 10:07 pm Reply with quote

That's just totally weired! That did it.

Has anybody figured out WHY we have to import all the countries? Or is it one of those "It works; just do it" kinda things?

Reason why I ask is because that is ALOT of database entries!
 
gregexp
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 10:27 pm Reply with quote

Right now, It's one of those "just do it , it works" kinda things Laughing

From my understanding, the creators are working on it.
 
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 12:07 am Reply with quote

Thats correct, the developers are working on this as previously the IP2C data import was optional.

Personally I actually prefer it this way. I would rather take the proactive approach of "ok lets see if you are a genuine IP before I let you into my site" than the reactive approach of " oh heck the HitsFan so I guess we should now try and find out who you are".
But I do appreciate that it does take up a fair bit of space - something that not everyone has.
 
synaptyx
Hangin' Around


Joined: Jul 20, 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:12 pm Reply with quote

Hi there, I have the same problem with phpNuke 7.7patched and Nuke Sentinel 2.5.0. Unfortunately adding the IP2C didn't have any effect. Thankfully my forums are separate to the phpNuke install, so the users with the problem can tell me what's going on. This is what they're seeing:
Code:
You have attempted to access this site with an invalid IP.


If you think this is a mistake you can contact the site webmaster at admin(at)poee(dot)co(dot)uk.

Be SURE to include the following information in any email!
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.0.2) Gecko/20060308 Firefox/1.5.0.2
Remote Address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Client IP: none
Forwarded For: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
This user is forced to use the net through a proxy by his ISP, he's in Belgium. Another user is using the Dorset Council library in the UK. Site is at Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! . Proxy blocking is not active and I have even made their ip ranges exclusions to no effect. I would really appreciate any help with this. I'm not a php expert and know very little about mySQL, so please don't confuse my already confusuled brain!

Thanks!Smile
 
View user's profile Send private message
Guardian2003
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:31 pm Reply with quote

Use Sentinels IP search feature - are the IP's you are having problems with in the database?

Do they have a firewall installed on their machine - does it make any difference if they turn it off?
I ask those questions just to try and gather extra data. The developers are still looking at this but you are the first one I have seen where importing ALL the IP2C data has not fixed the problem.
 
synaptyx
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:53 am Reply with quote

Hi Guardian. Smile

Both users have had access at their locations before I installed NS 2.5.0. I noted that the IP ranges were indeed covered in the country listings. The guy surfing from the library can't change his firewall settings.
 
anibus
New Member
New Member


Joined: Aug 17, 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:32 pm Reply with quote

Hi there,

I have the same problem. Even after importing IP2C data some users can's access the website.

Is there any way to turn this "IP checking" feature off?
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> NukeSentinel™ v2.5.x

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©