Ravens PHP Scripts: Forums
 

 

View next topic
View previous topic
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Raven's RavenNuke(tm) v1.x Distro
Author Message
superflash
Hangin' Around


Joined: Dec 06, 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 2:26 pm Reply with quote

Hello,

I had a very patched 7.6 with old NS and I decided to once and for all have an upgrade. I installed the newest distro in a separate directory and it looked it worked ok so I copy the new distro on my current working site replacing everything that had to be replaced.

I haven't done any database modifications because I don't really know what to do there or if it has to be done something, so that's my first question.

My second question is that when I try to get into Nuke Sentinel Admin the error "NukeSentinel(tm): Error Loading Functions" appears instructing me to add the old code in my mainfile, but I read here that that code is deprecated and it will cause a blank page. I don't know if this has something to do with something I haven't upgrade in the database or in some file.

I'll appreciate any help on this because I have my site closed since last saturday. Thanks in advance.

Lalo "superflash" Marquez Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
 
View user's profile Send private message
hitwalker
Sells PC To Pay For Divorce


Joined:
Posts: 5661

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 3:23 pm Reply with quote

hello,

there is indeed some difference between the 2 versions..
so as i understand you uploaded it overwriting your old nuke...
but you get an error when going to sentinel admin...
to what database is the ravennuke version now connecting?
 
View user's profile Send private message
superflash
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:52 pm Reply with quote

Thank you hitwalker! The database is mysql 4.0.27, I did overwrite my old nuke except for some old blocks that seem to be working fine. The nuke admin section works fine except for the sentinel section that displays that error page. Regards Smile
 
hitwalker
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:58 pm Reply with quote

ok...but i mean.......whitch database is your site running on now...
the old one or the ravennuke installed one...
 
superflash
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:10 pm Reply with quote

Oh, I'm sorry. Yes, the old one, well, the only one since I didn't make a new one to test the files when I uploaded them in a different directory. Thank you.
 
hitwalker
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:12 pm Reply with quote

well then you agree that your new nuke now is running on the old database tables...
and that includes sentinel to...
thats where the error comes from probably.
 
superflash
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:34 pm Reply with quote

mmmh ok, let me tell you what I did, please bear with me: I created a new subfolder on my server (my original old raven nuke installation is/was in the root dir) and test my site there, using my old/current database. I left it there for about 3 weeks and I alone used it frequently (no users allowed there) and last Saturday I decided to move the entire content of that directory to the root directory overwriting everything.

The thing is that I cannot get into my nuke sentinel administration module in my original/root nuke installation... but (and I discover this about 5 minutes ago) I can in the test directory. That's very weird because my guess is that if it was a database problem, I shouldn't been able to get in there either. So I thought it might be something else and I haven't been able to find the culprit. Any ideas?

Thanks again for your help.
 
hitwalker
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:22 am Reply with quote

ive send a pm
 
superflash
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:34 pm Reply with quote

Hello all,

I've been having problems with the NS code that supposedly goes atop of mainfile.php. Hitwalker was kind enough of fixing it the first time, I made some modifications and I now the problem got back.

If I try to go to the Nuke Sentinel admin module the "Error Loading Functions" message appears. The code I'm using is this:

Code:
if (defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {

   include("../../../includes/sentinel.php");
} elseif (defined('INSIDE_MOD')) {
   include("../../includes/sentinel.php");
} else {
   include("includes/sentinel.php");
}


I also tried the "if ($forum_admin == 1)" code but the "Undefined variable" message appears.

So now I see this notices and the site won't load at all:

Code:
Notice: Constant _AB_HELP_056 already defined in /home/***/anguage/sentinel/lang-spanish.php on line 238


Notice: Undefined variable: aid in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 120

Notice: Use of undefined constant END_TRANSACTION - assumed 'END_TRANSACTION' in /home/***/db/mysql.php on line 117

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: op in /home/***/includes/sentinel.php on line 156

Notice: Undefined variable: name in /home***/ncludes/sentinel.php on line 201


Any pointers at to where I should be looking to fix? Thanks in advance.

Eduardo.
 
superflash
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:45 pm Reply with quote

Any takers on this one? I'm still having the problem. Thanks.
 
gregexp
The Mouse Is Extension Of Arm


Joined: Feb 21, 2006
Posts: 1497
Location: In front of a screen....HELP! lol

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:43 pm Reply with quote

Sorry for the delay, What edits were made?
Also make sure there isnt an include already being called for sentinel.php.

_________________
For those who stand shall NEVER fall and those who fall shall RISE once more!! 
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
superflash
PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:12 am Reply with quote

Thank you darklord. I made the changes for wysiwyg and googletap. I'm not sure but I think I did see other includes calling for sentinel.php, I'll check that and get back to you on this. Thanks again Smile

UPDATE: I checked and just for testing I include this code in mainfile.php:

if (defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {
include_once("../../../includes/sentinel.php");
} elseif (defined('INSIDE_MOD')) {
include_once("../../includes/sentinel.php");
} else {
include_once("includes/sentinel.php");
}

But the same errors described above appeared again. But I noticed something that I don't know if it is correct or not:

In the directory includes I see two sentinel files:

- sentinel.php
- nukesentinel.php

Both are still in use? Wich one should the mainfile code point to?

Best regards,

Eduardo.
 
montego
Site Admin


Joined: Aug 29, 2004
Posts: 9449
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:43 am Reply with quote

"sentinel" was changed to "nukesentinel" long time back. Use nukesentinel.php.

_________________
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login! 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
superflash
PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 10:43 am Reply with quote

Thank you montego! This is a good step forward: I change the "mainfile.php" code to:
Code:


if (defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {
   include_once("../../../includes/nukesentinel.php");
} elseif (defined('INSIDE_MOD')) {
   include_once("../../includes/nukesentinel.php");
} else {
   include_once("includes/nukesentinel.php");
}

And now the page loads completely but with the following notices:

Code:


Notice: Undefined variable: aid in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 103
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: name in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 261
Notice: Undefined variable: file in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 261
Notice: Undefined variable: libpath in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 261
Notice: Undefined variable: c2c in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 410


And when I try to get into the admin module of Sentinel, the same page stating that I must include the "sentinel.php" code (no the "nukesentinel.php" code) appears.

By the way, all this started when using Webuilder to edit and ftp some files, something weird happens when used with my web host proveder: it opens the files incompletely and saves them like that, and eventually I got many many fatal errors, so now I'm using the file manager in control panel for editing.

Thanks for taking the time for helping me.
 
montego
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 6:40 am Reply with quote

I went back and re-read the beginning few posts and you mention this being RavenNuke, however, RavenNuke has never had the old "sentinel.php" names in it. I am unclear now as to what you have. Are you in a position to start with an absolute fresh copy of the latest RavenNuke 2.02.02?

If this is a relatively fresh copy of 2.02.02, then I would re-FTP everything using a good FTP tool, such as FileZilla (free from SourceForge), and start over. I would then "ditch" that terrible editor of yours and go with something like Textpad, UltraEdit, ... there are others mentioned in the forums here multiple times.
 
superflash
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:27 pm Reply with quote

Well, my installation it's really not that fresh, I created my site with phpnuke about 6 years ago... what I did actually is upload RavenNuke 2.02.02 (and before that several other more) over the existent installation. I was afraid to miss something if I just "clean start" with only this Distro alone.

I'm still afraid to do this, there's a lot of data in my site that I wouldn't want to delete and I'm sure I wouldn't notice what is missing after way later. Also, my Control Panel doesn't allow me to move or copy files (yes, I know they're very limited, but they have good support and I've been with them for 6 years) so I can't move or copy everything from root to a subfolder an put a fresh copy of 2.02.02 in it's place. I would have to maybe install the 2.02.02 in a new folder like "html" and do a redirection from root the new folder so my links in Google still work. But then again, how about my database? I don't really know what to do at this point. I was hoping ther would be a file with some missing text somewhere and that would fix everything.

As a side note, and just for the sake of a little bit of ranting, I asked my hosting provider to download a try out copy of Webuilder 2006 and check them out themselves, and they got the same problems that I did (missing text when opening files via ftp, etc.). Curiously, this only happens with ICDSoft, but not with Webmasters that I also use. Anyway, just a comment.

Thank you again for you time and help,

Eduardo.
 
montego
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:52 am Reply with quote

Unfortunately, you may be left with comparing every file in your installation to RavenNuke to help you determine what might missing or what should be removed. In some cases, with some files, you cannot have both the old and the new. E.g., links.php and case.php.
 
superflash
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:00 pm Reply with quote

o-oh... wich one is the old one? links or case? (I'm still living in the past lol) Anyway, do you think it would be safe if I install a complete and clean 2.02.02 distro in a subfolder and copy there my own blocks and modules and then do a rewriting or redirection from / to that subfolder? That's the best solution I can come out with, or would be a better one? Thanks!
 
montego
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 5:45 pm Reply with quote

It should be "do-able". Go ahead with the sub-directory idea or sub-domain. Make sure to use the right path/sub-domain when using setup.php. Install all your non-RavenNuke tables and script files and test it out thoroughly until you are satisfied.

I think then, when you are ready to "cut-over" (make sure and take a complete backup of the original DB and files FIRST -- always, always, always), do the temporary redirection at the top-most level and make sure things are still working on the sub-version. Then, remove what you had at the higher levels (be careful NOT to accidentally remove the version you are redirecting folks to.

If you have the ability to log in to SSH, you can simply move the entire installation up a level and do some minor "tweaking" to your Preferences and Forums setup (the paths again). If you don't have this, you can take a copy of what you just built and FTP it up a level (replicating it)... you may even have tools to take a gzip file and uncompress it... another option would be to ask your host to move it.

Once the files are where they need to be, just need to make sure nuke preferences and forums have the right path, remove your redirect, and you might be in business.

Disclaimer: I have never had to do this so it comes with some risk. Just think it through. When I have done this in the past, I would place a default index.php script or index.html script out at my root with a message that I'll be back in a few, blow everything away, re-FTP it back up (my QA'd version on my PC), and back in business.
 
fkelly
Former Moderator in Good Standing


Joined: Aug 30, 2005
Posts: 3312
Location: near Albany NY

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:24 pm Reply with quote

Also bear in mind that if you have any "internal" references to your old directory structure, say in articles or forum posts, you will need to adjust those. For instance, I frequently referred to Gallery pictures in some forum posts and when I put the new Gallery in the new directory structure and moved all the files over the links were broken. The same is true if you've done links in articles to things internal to your site.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
superflash
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 6:36 pm Reply with quote

Oh gosh, this doesn't seem easy even on writing! lol Obviously I was looking for a simpler solution, but it seems there is none.

So, I'll give it a try, step by step. This will take me days since I don't really have enough time to do it all at once. Also, I want to thoroughly test the new installation before deleting everything. And it bugs me that my host doesn't have a move or copy command in its CPanel.

Guys, I cannot thank you enough for your answers, you've been very kind.

My very best regards,

Eduardo.
 
Raven
Site Admin/Owner


Joined: Aug 27, 2002
Posts: 17077

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 11:01 pm Reply with quote

superflash wrote:


Notice: Undefined variable: aid in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 103
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: op in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 215
Notice: Undefined variable: name in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 261
Notice: Undefined variable: file in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 261
Notice: Undefined variable: libpath in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 261
Notice: Undefined variable: c2c in /*/includes/nukesentinel.php on line 410
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
 
View user's profile Send private message
superflash
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:38 am Reply with quote

Thank you Raven, but actually I put this code in mainfile.php to check for errors:

Code:


/*
error_reporting(E_ALL | E_NOTICE);

echo '<div align="center"><h1>SobreNatural.NET</h1><h2>MODO DE PRUEBAS</h2><p>
Disculpa las molestias, estamos haciendo modificaciones al sistema.
En unos instantes más volveremos en línea.</p><p><input type="button"
value="Refrescar" onclick="window.location.href=\'http://www.sobrenatural.net/\'" />
<hr />
</div>
';

echo '<p><b>Desplegado de errores del sistema:</b></p>';



if (defined('FORUM_ADMIN')) {
   include_once("../../../includes/nukesentinel.php");
} elseif (defined('INSIDE_MOD')) {
   include_once("../../includes/nukesentinel.php");
} else {
   include_once("includes/nukesentinel.php");
}
*/

And turned error reporting to TRUE in config. php all of this just for testing purposes.

The site runs ok with this notices, the problem is that I cannot enter the Nuke Sentinel admin module and instead I received this old message:

Code:


It appears that NukeSentinel(tm) has not been configured correctly. The most common cause is that you either have an error in the syntax that is including includes/sentinel.php from your mainfile.php, or you have not added the NukeSentinel(tm) code to your mainfile.php. This code must be placed immediately after the opening <? tag in mainfile.php. So your first 7 lines in mainfile.php must look like this:

<?php
if ($forum_admin == 1) {
  include("../../../includes/sentinel.php");
} elseif ($inside_mod == 1) {
  include("../../includes/sentinel.php");
} else {
  include("includes/sentinel.php");
}


So I was wondering in wich file is the code that present that warning because maybe it's an outdated file or code and fixing it could fix the whole thing.

Thank you for answering. Best regards,

Eduardo.
 
superflash
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 12:06 pm Reply with quote

Update: I think I found the error, I don't know why but renaming or deleting admin/modules/sentinel.php (the old version of nukesentinel.php) the administration module of Nuke Sentinel can now be accessed. I wondering now wich part of the system is/was asking for that old file instead of the new one...
 
montego
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 1:39 pm Reply with quote

Did you also have admin/case/case.sentinel.php and admin/links/link.sentinel.php? If so, get rid of those. These should also be the nukesentinel named...
 
Display posts from previous:       
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Ravens PHP Scripts And Web Hosting Forum Index -> Raven's RavenNuke(tm) v1.x Distro

View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2007 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
 
Forums ©